Solved: Configuring Wireless Home Network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

radiocynic

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
68
Hello. My question is almost identical to Tanna's -- except perhaps for the details of my goofy system. Should we discuss here or should I start a new thread?

I have an ancient desktop (Pentium III 500 running Win98SE), attached to my wireless router (Westell 327W) attached to my DSL service. Just bought a lovely new laptop (running XP). The laptop's wireless connection is hitting the DSL flawlessly (which I sure don't want to screw up) but I'd love to know what I need to set up in order to network the two computers as well.

Just like Tanna, I'd like to, from the laptop, access the desktop's printer and scanner, as well as transfer files amongst the drives in both computers.

Do I need a separate wireless card for the desktop, or can I already do this through its ethernet card? Will I have any problems unique to the XP & 98SE coexistence? Etc. Etc.

Thanks in advance for any help, as I'm "old at" computers, but new at networking!

-- Randy
 

radiocynic

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
68
Forgot to add, I have McAfee firewall installed on both.

Thanks again. -- Randy
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread. Thanks for your cooperation.

I've split your posts from the thread you hijacked. :)
 

radiocynic

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
68
Thanks for moving me, John. Would have been glad to retype it myself, but nice that I don't have to. (No offense intended by my protocol violation, of course!):)

So after reading through Tanna.Winter's solution, it seems as if I do have enough equipment installed, but it's just a question of configuring everything correctly. Unfortunately, the "master" desktop (with the ethernet card cabled to the router; also the home of the printer and the scanner) is the ancient 98SE computer.

So it seems I might be capable of wading through the Network Setup Wizard on my lovely new XP laptop, but I'm completely clueless on setting up the network on the 98SE machine. I attempted to start following Microsoft's Knowledge Base directions, and ended up temporarily disabling my internet connection, upon bootup following the attempt to set up the IP address (a process I admittedly don't understand...)

(Since the internet connections are working well on both computers, my greatest fear here is that I'll screw that up in my feeble attempts to network.)

Anyway, all the equipment again, if it matters:

Desktop - Vintage 1999 Dell Pentium III 500 running 98SE, with D-Link DFE-530TX+ ethernet card hooked up to Westell 327W router (Verizon DSL). This is the computer that's wired to the printer (HP Photosmart 7760) and scanner (HP Scanjet 5370C), which I'd like to access remotely from the wireless laptop, along with accessing the desktop's hard drive info.

Laptop -- Dell Inspiron 6000 w/ Pentium M 760 2.0GHz running XP. (Wireless is working splendidly for connecting to the internet, but don't know how to connect with the other computer.)

Firewalls -- McAfee installed on both.

Thanks for any help. -- Randy
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
Since you have Internet connectivity on both of them, you don't need any more equipment. Run through this checklist and let us know when you hit a roadblock.

Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

PING each computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. You can obtain the IP address of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG. This should work for any Windows version.

All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
 

radiocynic

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
68
Thanks, John. I'm away from both computers til later this afternoon, so I'll start going through the list step-by-step then and see how it goes. Thanks again. -- Randy
 

radiocynic

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
68
Good evening.

All worked; thanks very much.

One of the most confusing aspects was that, during network setup, Win98SE kept prompting (repeatedly through the process) for six different dll, vxd and sys files, which were alleged to be on the original 98SE CD, but sure weren't on MY original 98SE CD! A guy from Dell told me that those files "shouldn't be necessary anyway", so I proceeded, and all ended up working anyway after following the procedures John outlined.

I was also able to successfully reconfigure the McAfee firewalls for the "locally trusted" stuff, so all seems good (for now!)

Thanks for the help; please either mark this 'solved' (or delete if you don't think any of the info would be useful to others.)

Thanks again! -- Randy
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the upper right of the screen. :) The first one is free, I did it for you. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top