1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: connect vista to wireless home network

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by nichos, Feb 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    connect vista to wireless home network

    how can I connect a vista laptop to existing wireless home network with other 3 xp machines.

    I followed googled info but keep chasing my tail as all effords end trying to make an internet connection.

    My router is Negear wired & wireless capable in which 2 PCs are wired & an Acer netbook wireless connected, all 3 XP machines.


    Hewlett-Packard Compaq Presario CQ61 Notebook PC
    2.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium Dual-Core
    160gb HD, 3GB Ram
    32 operating system
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you tried connecting by a cable ?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Check the wireless is switched ON
    theres often a physical switch or a combination of the FN and one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off - is the wireless on?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    can we see an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    The laptop connects to the internet OK.

    I just want to include it in my home network

    The Laptop is:-Hewlett-Packard Compaq Presario CQ61 Notebook PC
    2.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium Dual-Core
    160gb HD, 3GB Ram
    32 operating system

    here it is:-

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VistaLaptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-56-AE-86-4F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::80f5:6863:5f11:74f1%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 February 2013 18:35:34
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 February 2013 18:35:34
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268445014
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-D2-68-F0-00-23-8B-D8-B2-80
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E/8103E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-8B-D8-B2-80
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6ED7D53E-46B9-4E7D-A265-C5BC9996EFB5}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:2c12:ec6:3f57:fffb(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c12:ec6:3f57:fffb%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{22F9E5DD-3E0A-4904-84D6-7A1CBA01332F}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you explain a little more ?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    Just connect the Vista to the "existing wireless home network." Are you using a router or ad-hoc wireless?
     
  6. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    As said in my 1st post:- My router is Negear wired & wireless capable in which 2 PCs are wired & an Acer netbook wireless connected, all 3 XP machines.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    The ipconfig /all shows an apparent good connection to a router. Is that not your router to which the XP PCs are connected?

    As Wayne asked, please be more specific about your problem or question.
     
  8. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    please see my 1st post
     
  9. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    Nichos please check that the WORKGROUP name is the same for all PCs,XPs default is MSHOME while VISTA'S is WORKGROUP,if you change VISTA'S to MSHOME MAY BE THE ANSWER.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    I did see your first post. You said you have an existing wireless network of three XP PCs. You also said that two of the PCs are connected to a Netgear router by ethernet and one by Wi-Fi. I'm guessing that you mean you have a local area network consisting of a wireless Netgear router and three XP PCs. Correct?

    Are you having trouble connecting the Vista to the Netgear router? Your post # 3 shows an apparent good Wi-Fi connection to a router. Is that some other router? Or is it your router but there is no communication with the router?

    Have you tried to connect the Vista by ethernet?
     
  11. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Besides loosing the add/remove fanction, now the IE9 when opened takes 70secs to open each page making it unusable.

    I tried to download & install again IE9 in MS site but nothing happens.

    The win explorer functions OK and so are all other programs, word, etc.

    Chrome works OK.

    Where can I find the place for returning to a previous PC condition?
     
  12. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    Start Menu > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved connect vista
  1. Cartertribe
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    788
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088071

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice