1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connected to internet but can't use Firefox/IE/Safari.. ?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Wreck, Jun 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wreck

    Wreck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    First I consider myself a above average computer user and usually real good at solving most computer issues on my own or surfing the web. I have good working knowledge of 95/98/XP and Vista. My wife was asked by a friend at work if we could check out her laptop and see why she can't connect to the internet anymore using Firefox/IE/Safari. You just get the basic "Unable to connect", "IE cannot display the webpage" etc. Try to diagnose connect problems and it comes back everything is okay.

    Gateway laptop running Vista Home, currently SP-2.
    She normally uses Sprint wireless card to connect to the internet but can't connect anymore.

    I have it currently connected to internet wireless and have tried ethernet cord both successfully connect to my router/internet access.

    The most I have been able to do is Windows Update function. I have pinged websites from the command prompt with no problems, 4 packets sent and recieved average of 17 ms. I have turned on/off windows firewall and there currently is no virus scanners running. Reset the browsers to factory settings. I have done everything I can think of and have done alot of searching online but no luck. Any help would be appreciated, since she can't browse the internet making her laptop useless.


    Thanks.
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,055
    Try uninstalling and reinstalling the Sprint wireless card driver.
     
  3. Wreck

    Wreck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks but that doesn't seem to be the problem. We don't even have the Sprint wireless card in use. Actually I disabled software for the card since we don't have it. I'm using the built in wireless adapter that came with the laptop to connect to the internet and also tried hard wire (ethernet) to connect. Both connections are successful and state we have internet access but I can't access the internet using any browsers. If you look in the details of the connection you can see that bytes sent and recieved are normal activities but for some reason internet browsers are cut off from accessing the internet.
     
  4. Wreck

    Wreck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Good news! I fixed the problem on my own. Turns out there was a corrupt installation of Nortons 360 in the laptop and after using the Nortons Removal Tool it resolved the problem. Now all browsers are working once again. Hard to believe Norton's program getting corrupt blocked use of the browsers.

    Found the solution here, thanks again.

    :)
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,055
    Well, Norton is notorious for that... [​IMG]

    Glad you got it fixed! [​IMG]
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/927575