1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connected Wired, Cannot connect Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by changsta3, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I bought a new laptop and I can't get it to establish a wireless connection. The network appears to be detected with maximum bars but when I try to connect, I get an error message "Windows was unable to connect to NETWORK". The strange thing is my old laptop can connect while this one can't. I've tried a bunch of things but it still doesn't work. I've disabled my WEP security and it still doesn't work. I made sure my router and wireless card had the most recent firmware/drivers and it still didn't work. Now I'm at a loss for what to do so I hope you guys can help me.

    Internet: Comcast Cable
    Cable Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB6120
    Router: Netgear WGT624 v3
    Wireless Card for laptop: Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter


    ipconfig/all (through my wired connection)



    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Changsta-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4E-5D-60-84-CC-58
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-F0-6D-BE-1A-36
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Con
    troller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-2F-F2-74
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f5f9:a42b:3c9b:f5b8%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 17, 2011 11:57:28 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:57:28 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 347909829
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-99-D4-28-48-5D-60-84-CC-58

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-5D-60-84-CC-58
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #6
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{AEF2603E-16CB-4C04-9396-64976A58B7BC}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3c38:3c93:b380:37d2(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c38:3c93:b380:37d2%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{767BEA75-DFE0-4BA3-BB81-4CC25157D245}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #7
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable Microsoft 6To4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #8
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,952
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,166
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you are using the turbo (or whatever it's called) mode on that router try with just regular 802.11g.

    Make sure you are not locking yourself out with MAC Address filtering.
     
  4. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I'm actually not that good with computers. I don't know what a xirrus screenshot is. I don't know what turbo or mac filtering are.

    I am using a PC.



    xirrus: downloaded but can't install. dotnetfx won't install on my 64x PC. I go here (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...FamilyID=B44A0000-ACF8-4FA1-AFFB-40E78D788B00) and it says my PC already has it. Computers don't make any sense to me. I'm done trying to understand it, I just want to use it!
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,952
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the instructions on how to get xirrrus - how to load and run and post a screen shot are on the post I posted - let me know what you dont understand and I 'll post further details
     
  6. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Yes I believe I have NET framework. I found it in my regedit. Xirrus installer still won't initialize.
     
  7. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,952
    First Name:
    Wayne
    excellent - so we now know the adapter can see the wireless network and all the wireless details
    so now back to why it will not connect

    try a tcp/ipp reset
    also post back the status of all the services
    switch the router off - it may even need to be reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Services}
    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    K, I did the reset test in command prompt. The first 2 worked successfully. The v6 said something like my configurations weren't set so there was nothing to reset. (I can do it again and post the copy and paste if you want)

    All the services were running, some were automatically started and some were manually but they were all started.

    Did a reboot, did a power off and back on of the router/cable modem, and I still can't connect wirelessly. Just to be sure, am I able to establish two connections at the same time? Wired and wireless?



    netsh ipv6 reset reset.log
    "There's no user specified settings to be reset"



    im' at a loss too. i hate computers.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,166
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your router's reference guide is probably on a CD you got with it or can be downloaded here.

    Page 3-11 talks about the wireless modes. I suggest that you do not use either 108 Mbps mode until you get it working. Often that "turbo" mode only works with compatible devices made by the same manufacturer.

    I didn't find anything about MAC Address filtering. Maybe that router does not have that (rather useless) feature.
     
  11. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I just checked and I'm using g and b mode.




    Mode

    Select the desired wireless mode. The options are:

    g & b - Both 802.11g and 802.11b wireless stations can be used.
    g only - Only 802.11g wireless stations can be used.
    b only - All 802.11b wireless stations can be used. 802.11g wireless stations can still be used if they can operate in 802.11b mode.
    Auto 108 Mbps - All 802.11g, 802.11b, and NETGEAR 108-Mbps wireless stations can be used.
    Note: If you select 108-Mbps mode, the WPN824 will only use channel 6.
    The default is "g & b", which allows both "g" and "b" wireless stations to access this device.
     
  12. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    One thing I might add is that when I try to connect to my neighbors wireless, it'll ask me for a WEP key. When I tried to connect to my own router, back when I had encryption, it would say unable to connect before asking for a WEP key. Hope that can help narrow down the issue.



    When I first set up my computer, running windows for the first time, it asked me to enter my WEP key. When I did, it said it couldn't connect and I thought I might've remembered it wrong so I said "skip this step" so that I could set it up later. When I looked up my WEP key and tried to enter it after the setup, it didn't let me. I created my own network with my SSID and WEP key, which didn't work either, which is now deleted. I tried removing my WEP key through my routers page and it still won't connect.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,952
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have removed the wireless profiles on the PC

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    --

    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,166
    First Name:
    Terry
    Some devices translate ascii passcodes differently, so if you have to use WEP use a HEX key.

    Sometimes Vista and Windows 7 struggle with WEP; try w/o encryption and then (if successful) try using WPA-PSK or WPA2-PSK.
     
  15. changsta3

    changsta3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    My encryption + network profiles were removed before starting this thread. By the way, thanks for trying to help all this time.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975233

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice