1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connecting 2 computers to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mrhite65, Jul 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrhite65

    mrhite65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    I have a Dell Dimension 4400 and a Dell Demension E310. Both have XP. Have a cable connection to internet. Cable Modem Motorola SB5120 Series SURFboard. Also have Netgear Wireless Router WGR614 v6. How do I get both of these computers on the internet at the same time? And do I need the Router?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    Follow the router's Quick Installation Guide. Or User Guide. Briefly, with everything off, connect modem to router's WAN (Internet, modem) port, one PC to router LAN port with ethernet cable. Optionally connect 2nd PC to router via ethernet. In order, plug in or turn on modem, router, PC(s).

    If no internet access, probably means your ISP keeps track of MAC address of the device connected to the router. Access the router through your browser and clone that MAC address of the PC that has internet access directly through the modem.

    Configure the router's wireless, and optionally connect either or both PCs via wireless.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    To get them on wired, it should be as simple as resetting the router to factory defaults. Most DOCSIS compliant cable modems will connect that way to a broadband router with no additional configuration.

    Yes, you need the router, unless you want to screw around with ICS, which I DON'T recommend! :D

    Obviously, to configure the encryption for the wireless and the like, you'll have to do additional configuration of the router...
     
  4. mrhite65

    mrhite65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    How do I reset the router to factory defaults?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    "How do I reset the router to factory defaults?"

    Check the User Guide. Almost always you hold the reset button for 10 to 20 seconds.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    With the power on. :D
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,686
    First Name:
    Frank
    These are the basic steps for setting up 2 computers with a router to share a high-speed cable connection without setting them up with internet connection sharing(which I don't recommend you do either):

    1. Make sure the cable modem and router are unplugged and that both computers are turned off.

    2. Connect the cable modem to the router's WAN/Internet port with a CAT5 cable.

    3. Connect each computer's network port to one of the router's numbered ports with a CAT5 cable.

    4. Plug in the modem and give it a couple of minutes for the lights to sync.

    5. Plug in the router and give it a couple of minutes for the lights to sync.

    6. Turn on both computers and allow the desktop to fully load, then see if both of them go on-line.

    7. If neither computer will go on-line, leave everything as it is and then call your ISP. They'll need to verify that the cable modem is receiving a signal and that the cable modem and router are "talking" to each other.

    The software CD that comes with the router isn't needed.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. mrhite65

    mrhite65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    The older computer didn't have a network adapter. Once installed worked fine!
    Thanks for the help!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482014

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice