1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: connecting LG blue ray to network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by km1313, Nov 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. km1313

    km1313 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I have Verizon fios internet and am trying to hook up my blue ray to the network. I have a router that has the WAN/LAN connection ports and have plugged the ethernet cable to the LAN on the blue ray and the router but am not getting a connection. The internet on my laptop is connected wirelessly through the router and works great. I am pretty clueless as to how to hook up to the blue ray to the internet, as you can tell, and could use some help. I just purchased the LG BD530 blue ray and am hoping I can hook it up to the internet to streamline to my netflix account. Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    I dont know if you can do that - will need to look at the specs
    But
    Lets see how you have your router setup - should be DHCP - so lets see an ipconfig /all from the working laptop
    and then on the DVD player , have you will need to gointo the setup options and make sure they are setup OK
    I have my PVR, TV and DVD connected to a router and use a fixed IP

    Meanwhile i will look at the manual if available on line
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    Ok found the online manuall here http://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...documents&targetPage=support-product-profile#
    it would be worth you downloading so we talk the same page numbers etc - although it may be exactly the same as the one you have

    Page 21 talks about the network installation and dynamic and static IPs which I was referring to in the above post

    If you could also go through those settings on that page and post the information there - Ipaddress, subnet, etc
     
  4. km1313

    km1313 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    First, thank you for your quick response! In the meantime I had reset the router and the blu ray has since connected to the internet. I am disappointed though because I don't know how I can connect to netflix. Do you know if there is a way to do that?
    Also, I have another blu ray that is too far away from the router to be connected by the LAN cable. Do you know if there is anything that I can hook up to the blu ray so that it can connect to the router wirelessly?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    Yes you can use a wireless access point
    I currently use a
    EW-7209 to connect a Panasonic TV and a Humax HDR PVR
    but if you only want to connect one device then the EW-7206 should do the trick
    although I know these products can sometimes be picky with what works on them

    It may not have an internet facility on it and only use DLNA on the network to stream any video or music you have stored - would need to look at manual to see if theres a portal to the internet

    Looking at the above the portal is limited to those three sites
     
  6. km1313

    km1313 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    thank you so much for your quick help! I'll be returning the bluray since i didn't do my research first and realize that I couldn't connect to netflix. I'll definitely be getting that wireless component for my other bluray though. Thanks and have a great day.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    your welcome - its quite confusing what you can and cannot connect to - I purchased a HD PVR from humax and it was supposed to have iplayer for catch up TV and - we are still waiting for that functionality to arrive
    on the panasonic TV they have a limited portal to the internet - again iplayer is only available from freesat and not from freeview and no plans to bring catchup TV to the portal for freeview - a bit disappointing -

    you can mark the thread solved - button at the top of the page " Mark Solved "
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/965025