1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connecting my computer to the TV.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by orionrbm, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. orionrbm

    orionrbm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 that came with an S plug connection in the back of it. I just got a new Dell Inspiron without an S plug connection. How can I connect it to my TV? Thank you, Orion.
     
  2. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
    Hi have a look at the manual it should list all the ports and other connections
     
  3. orionrbm

    orionrbm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    joeten, No manual! How can I access this info using the compute
     
  4. rdooski3

    rdooski3

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Does your tv have a vga input? If so it can be done that way.
     
  5. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
    Hi Dell support site for your model will have a copy of the manual which you can download and print
     
  6. orionrbm

    orionrbm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    How is a manual going to help? You can physically see what ports are on the computer. You don't need a manual for that. If the computer doesn't have the same ports that the TV has, then you need a special cable or an adapter. No manual is going to help you with that either.

    You'll need to tell us what outputs are available on the computer and what inputs are available on the TV.
     
  8. orionrbm

    orionrbm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    VGA port on computer TV
     
  9. orionrbm

    orionrbm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    TV has an S port
     
  10. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
    The manual would allow identification of the available ports
     
  11. orionrbm

    orionrbm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Thanks a lot for all your help.
     
  12. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
    Your welcome
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    It would be interesting to hear how you connected the VGA output on the computer to the S-video input on the TV. And I'd be curious as to how the manual helped.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916700

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice