1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connecting my laptop to TV???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ankushkool, Oct 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ankushkool

    ankushkool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    i have dell studio 17 and stupid ppl have not provided s-video port :(
    i have 2 options

    1. VGA port
    2. HDMI port

    and i want to connect it to a normal television. is it possible?
     
  2. ankushkool

    ankushkool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    is it possible?
     
  3. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    I'm guessing you have the ATI radeon HD 3650 video. This is designed for HDTV, so you will need an HD TV with an HDMI input, or a standard TV with a VGA input. I did find one converter; kind of spendy though at $269 US, more than half the cost of a low end HDTV.
    You might be able to use an inexpensive VGA to S-video cable, but not all systems will work with these. THe Video card has to support TV out through the VGA connector, which I don't think the ATI card supports.

    HTH

    Jerry
     
  4. ankushkool

    ankushkool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    so there is no hd to composite connection
     
  5. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
  6. ankushkool

    ankushkool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    they dont know anything :( dumb ppl
     
  7. RogueSpear00

    RogueSpear00

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    I've never had luck with those converters. Plus S-Video looks horrible most of the time as well. If you can, use the VGA, as the HDMI is awesome - but pricey. Most flat panels & projection tvs have either/or/both. Older tube TV's typically don't have these connections although some of the older model projection tvs do come with the VGA connection.
     
  8. ankushkool

    ankushkool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    thanks guys 4 de help
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758358

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice