1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connecting to the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by copyguy, Dec 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    I have a Dell insperon mini 10. It is running Windows 7 Starter. ver 6.1.7600build 7600. Belongs to my son. Says he could not get onto the internet since the summer. I played a bit and decided to just reset to factory settings. Still can not get on ther web. It says I am connected, but no access. When I troubleshoot it says there may be a DNS problem. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Maybe this is in the wrong forum. I will try Network and Internet. Sorry for the cross post.
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    You don't have to create a new thread. I'll request that this one be moved.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    are you using a secure wireless connection, and are you sure you are using the correct key ?

    you may want to remove the wireless profiles and try again

    otherwise
    can we see the following from the PC - looks like a lot - but not to much info


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to remove Wireless Profiles - for Vista and Windows 7
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    iconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JoeTheBoss-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-60-76-21-32-35
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f182:653d:ab6f:79f9%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.136(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 12, 2011 12:47:36 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 13, 2011 12:47:36 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218914934
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-40-D3-35-00-24-E8-CB-D7-80
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-E8-CB-D7-80
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{169FBAA5-A0C7-4B8D-AABD-4F767EB3111E}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>ipconfig /all>network.txt & network.txt

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>ping

    Usage: ping [-t] [-a] [-n count] [-l size] [-f] [-i TTL] [-v TOS]
    [-r count] [-s count] [[-j host-list] | [-k host-list]]
    [-w timeout] [-R] [-S srcaddr] [-4] [-6] target_name

    Options:
    -t Ping the specified host until stopped.
    To see statistics and continue - type Control-Break;
    To stop - type Control-C.
    -a Resolve addresses to hostnames.
    -n count Number of echo requests to send.
    -l size Send buffer size.
    -f Set Don't Fragment flag in packet (IPv4-only).
    -i TTL Time To Live.
    -v TOS Type Of Service (IPv4-only. This setting has been deprecated
    and has no effect on the type of service field in the IP Head
    er).
    -r count Record route for count hops (IPv4-only).
    -s count Timestamp for count hops (IPv4-only).
    -j host-list Loose source route along host-list (IPv4-only).
    -k host-list Strict source route along host-list (IPv4-only).
    -w timeout Timeout in milliseconds to wait for each reply.
    -R Use routing header to test reverse route also (IPv6-only).
    -S srcaddr Source address to use.
    -4 Force using IPv4.
    -6 Force using IPv6.


    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>
     
  7. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>ping.google.com
    'ping.google.com' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Note the spaces

    also the space and dots in PING - you need to type as posted exactly
     
  9. tiregirl

    tiregirl

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    where do i go to ask a question about my broadband wireless device
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if its related to this problem - ask here as a reply - if completely separate start a new thread in networking - BUT note we do not want seperate posts dealing with the same issue - otherwise it gets confusing as to what you have done and the results from test , as we follow a logical process and expect replies / results
     
  11. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you seem to have a connection to the router and can see the wireless

    can we see the three ping tests now

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.1.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 13ms

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\Users\JoeTheBoss>
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you have a good connection to the router - but something is blocking access

    have you a firewall / security suite or timetrail like norton, mcafee
     
  15. copyguy

    copyguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Norton is not installed yet. I turned off windows firewalls
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030906

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice