1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Connection dropping on Desktop yet Wireless connection remains fine

Discussion in 'Networking' started by design, Feb 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Hi folks, would greatly appreciate any help and advice on the following problem that's been happening over the last few months...

    I have a Dell Dimension 9200 running Windows XP and use a Buffalo WBMR-G54 Wireless Router to connect to the internet. I also connect wirelessly with a Dell Latitude laptop and an iPhone.

    What's been happening on the desktop computer is a loss of connection for 30 seconds at a time or so with the message 'Local Area Connection (a network cable is unplugged)'.

    Yet while my desktop is disconnected my other devices are using the wireless connection without a break so it doesn't look like there's anything wrong with my broadband provider.

    The Network Connection properties are:
    Intel(R) 82566DC Gigabit Network Connection
    PCI bus 0, device 25, function 0
    Link speed: 10Mbps/Full Duplex
    Driver Version: 9.4.21.0

    It seems to be happening much more frequently in the evenings than during the day, especially when using Skype.

    Any pointers and help would be great, let me know if you need any more info.

    Many thanks
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sounds like a defective cable, NIC or router ethernet port(s).

    Why is the gigabit ethernet adapter connecting at 10 Mbps? Did it have trouble with auto sensing or does the router only have 10 Mbps ethernet?
     
  3. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for getting back so quickly TerryNet.

    My ADSL provider connects at 10 Mbps (maximum) averaging between 8-10 Mbps. Would that explain why it's connecting at that speed? I just ran the connection diagnostics for auto detect and it passed all the tests.

    Would you recommend buying a new ethernet cable or any next steps I could take?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    Another cable is one way of testing. Another way to test is to connect the laptop using the same cable and router LAN port.

    I assumed that "Link speed: 10Mbps/Full Duplex" is the nominal connection speed, having nothing to do with actual data throughput or ISP maximum bandwidth.
     
  5. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks and apologies if I misunderstood the 10 Mbps speed question, a bit out of my depth in this area!

    Took your advice and moved the cable from the desktop to the laptop (using the same LAN port) and it had the exact same problem has the desktop with the connection dropping intermittently. With wireless enabled on the laptop the connection goes back to normal and connects at 54 Mbps.

    Just found another ethernet cable so replaced the one I was using before. Was hoping it would fix it but looks like I'm getting the same problem as it's dropping out quite a bit at the moment (just typed this out twice after forgetting to copy before posting when I lost connection!)

    I've previously changed the LAN ports I was connecting to and the problem persisted so didn't appear to be specific to one port.

    Stumped for now... any more tips would be great!
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sounds like the router's ethernet part is failing. That was my first guess, but it's better to eliminate the other possibilities as you have done.

    Sometimes a router will behave itself if you reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it.
     
  7. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Just restored my router to factory default settings and it's not dropped since. Early days but fingers crossed it might be behaving now. I guess if it starts again it might be time to look for a new router, but hopefully won't need to.

    In the meantime, really appreciate the help TerryNet, thanks again!
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  9. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks JohnWill, didn't want to jump the gun in case it started playing up again but have marked solved in faith :)
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :) And in case the router does not live up to your faith note that the button has now switched sides and says Mark Unsolved. :D
     
  11. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Ah, one should never tempt the gods of fate... it's back to losing connection on and off since I clicked the solved button. Short of inventing a new solved-ish button any more next step ideas I could take? Off on a week's holiday tomorrow so hoping it'll get all the playing up out of system before I get back...
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    I have no other ideas. I think the router needs to be replaced, but there is no way to prove that with 100% certainty.
     
  13. design

    design Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Was thinking that was the next step, understand it's not 100% certain but hopefully will fix it, thanks. Will mark as solved and get myself a new router when back from holiday if it's still as bad.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/899518

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice