1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: converting analog tapes to CD

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by mlettel, Oct 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    I would like to convert all video tapes to Cd's.What I must have to achieve this task. It is my first try. I have no experience to do this. I do run Window 98SE. How many GB is needed for 3 hours tape. Please if someone can give me advice, what to get to complete the task. I am not young, thats mean bit more details to understand how ?
    Thanks- mlettel
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, first you need a tape player with an output, the cables to match that output to the line-in of your sound card. Presuming that you're reading the input in uncompressed in WAV format, three hours of WAV sound is about 1.8 gigabytes. I'd recommend you look around for a decent audio processor, Cakewalk, CoolEdit, SoundForge, etc.
     
  3. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Hi johnwill.
    Got your message. Thanks. But remember. I,am old fellow. More details helps. TAPE PLAYER. You mean VIDEO ? and presume it should be added some CARD or something to my PC ? and than connect with suitable cables? ...and Cake walk, Cool edit, SoundForce, ...are used to edit to PC? ..and than burn with present NERO WRITER? If you can spend few more minutes, it will be bonus.
    Thanks. mlettel
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Sorry, I was thinking audio, not video, that's what I get for flunking reading comprehension! :D

    Let's start over. You need a video capture card unless you have a Digital Video Camera that has a Firewire connection. If you look at various video capture options, most of them come with software to capture to disk, and many will burn the VCD to CD for you too.
     
  5. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks Johnwill.
    Looks to me its about $ 120 for firewall card and havin video tapes decorder witch come with software- hope and few hundrets dollars?!. I will check in shops.

    Regards
    mlettel
     
  6. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Dear Johnwill.

    Corection ( firewire)
    Sorry.

    mlettel
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That assumes your camera has a Firewire connection, if you're talking an older camera, it probably is straight analog. In that case, it's the capture card.

    BTW, you can find Firewire cards a lot cheaper than $120, at least here in the US, I think I paid about $25 for one with capture software.
     
  8. Fredledingue

    Fredledingue

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    The best is a capture card or a video card with a video-in slot, usualy called VIVO cards, because video in video out.

    Buy a good one, it's important to have a card that can capture in 640x480 pixels or more.

    You can connect your video tape player with composite cables: thos who plug into the white, black and yellow slot on the back of the player.
    There are also peritel to composite converter, these very large cable that looks like computer cables but are only for video.

    If the player has a s-video output (a 4 pins slot) and the capture card a s-video input it's even better. But it's rare that analog devices like a video tape player has a s-video out. They usualy are s-video in. Be careful.

    You connect the audio by two (stereo and mono) composite cable (the white and the black or red ones) to the audio input of your mother board (if she has a imbedded audio device) or of the audio card of your computer.
    Check if you have a audio in on the back of the computer case.
    You will need a convertor to join the two composite audio cables to the single headphone-like slot of the audio in of the computer.

    Thes cable convertors are not expensive.

    When you got your good and expensive capture card, you need at least 30 Gb of free space, 60Gb is better. Everything depends in what format the video will be captured.

    capturing video means recording the vhs tapes to a digital format on the hard disc.
    If it's uncompressed it will take 20Mb per second for a 640x480 resolution.
    If it's compressed to mpeg2, DivX or Asus (asus cards only) formats it's about 2 Mb per second.

    Nowadays most video capture card are able to compress on-the-fly (real time without loss) to mpeg2, divx or similar like asus.

    The audio in the video must always be captured in non compressed pcm.

    When you have done your capture (after a few dozens of re-tries and re-settings to get things right) :) you will have to compress the video to divX and the ausio to mp3 (most recomanded formats) in order to reduce the file size to fit the movie on one CD-rom.

    To know more about recompression and tv/vhs capture please go to:

    http://www.divx.com
    http://fullart.topcities.com/aviutl.htm
    http://www.doom9.org/index.html?/guides.htm
     
  9. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks Fredledingue.
    It is very helpfull.No s-video. No problem vith convertors. If you say "goog expensive card." ? Say in dollars,please. And no digital
    camera. If you compress to reasnable size, why so big HD.? I did see today, just simple external unit call " D-Link DSB-VIOO, at cost $AD 137-00. Very simple even simple editing. What do you thing?
    mettel
     
  10. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Invest heavily in hard drive.. I have 220gigs on my main machine and normally I only have aprox 30 gigs free. All the space is taken up with mostly video editing projects. The reason for a big hard drive is normally during conversion you need twice the size in free space on the drive of the original file.. Also, you may want to keep the original for awhile so you can test the re-encode and make sure you get a good burn... Burning to disk takes time, also, later you may (like me) set up a home network with streaming capability in order to stream video from a central server to other locations on the network. It's easier to stream the video than to totally move (copy) the video to a different PC on the network. I use unreal media server from here... http://www.umediaserver.net/
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Of course, since hard disks are so cheap, that's not a huge issue. I have three machines that I use regularly, the smallest disk capacity of the three is 320gigs. :)
     
  12. Fredledingue

    Fredledingue

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    Well, what gotrootdude said is excact if you want to keep a lot of movies on your hardrive, eg for streaming in a network.

    Theoriticaly, you don't need twice as the filesize for editing if you compress immediatly.

    But to put things simply, you need more space because it takes about one day for the computer to encode (compress) properly a 2 hour movie.

    If you want to capture a second movie before the first one is encoded, you will need space for two movies or more.

    I have a 37Gb (officialy 40Gb) and it's enough for my home use.
    But I should not wait too long before compressing.

    80Gb is more confortable I would say: no worry to run out of disc space.

    As for the price of a video card, I bought my Asus for +- US$250.
    I think 200$ is what you should look for. I'm not a specialist about prices because things evoluate so fast; prices as well as technical capabilities.
     
  13. Fredledingue

    Fredledingue

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    2 hours of capture, on the fly pre-compressed, should make up between 6 and 12 Gb depending on the capture properties.
     
  14. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks to all of you, who replay it.
    There is one problem. I leave in Australia. If you talking about $ 250-00, thats here $ 500-00 +. I do looking for something simple at low resolution, the reason? My tapes are from analog video cameras and this is not great resolution. And is anybody there, who know " D-Link DSB-V100 or simirlar (decoder?)
    Thanks
    Mettel
     
  15. mlettel

    mlettel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Hi! Is anyone there who know about SWANN EAZY CAPTURE ?
    or Pinnacle PC TV. Would the problem be solved. The price is reasnable here in AUSTRALIA for mentioned producs. I do not want to spent to much money, but still get reasnable kvality.
    Thanks mettel.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171384

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice