1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Converting Dual Channel to Single Channel with RAM.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lightning89, Sep 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lightning89

    lightning89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    This is probly a very simple question, but i'm after converting my ACER Aspire 5600 laptop from using Dual Channel RAM to Single Channel. I've been told you can do this in the BIOS, but i'm not exacly sure how. I've had a breif look on google but can't seem to find anything of any help.

    Thanks a lot,
    - Lee
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What exactly are you trying to accomplish? Why disable dual-channel operation? It's automatic if you have two identical memory modules and will increase performance. If you really want single-channel operation, take one out. :)
     
  3. lightning89

    lightning89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    I'm planning on installing a 2GB stick of RAM and a 1GB stick into my Laptop. I know it isn't usually advised to mix and match, but I was talking to a lady at Crucial tech support and said you may need to enable single channel rather than dual for it to work. It may configure it automatically, but I wanted to know just in case I was required to do it manually. =P
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I think you'll find it does it for you. :)

    FWIW, I'd put two one gig sticks in. There is VERY LITTLE you'll run that requires more than that, why give up performance for memory capacity that you'll probably never use?
     
  5. lightning89

    lightning89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Point taken John, I decided to cancel the RAM and order two 1GB sticks. =P After looking up on the subject it seems like you're right and would be better off going for the performance. Thanks once again!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Converting Dual
  1. Barrett00
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    87
  2. nadeem.others
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    321
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/620810

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice