1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Corrupted USB drivers ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by madspec, Jan 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    I had a major hick-up yesterday with Acronis, i managed to fix it but now i can't see my WD 3TB MyBook for some reason. The drive is ok cause if i put in on my laptop everything is working .

    Here's a pic of my device manager:

    [​IMG]

    I did try to reinstall the generic usb drivers with no luck, Reinstalled the WD SES Device driver , same thing, nothing.

    Any Ideas ?

    Thanks

    Mad

    Intel I7 2600k
    Asus P8X68-V PRO/GEN 3
    16 GB Corsair Vengance 1866
    OCZ Vertex2 180 gb
    Asus GTX580 CUII
    Windows 7 Ultimate sp1
     
  2. RonK

    RonK

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    853
    Double click WD 3TB MyBook in Device Manager and see why there is an Exclamtion Mark on the drive.
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It doesn't appear to have anything whatever to do with USB. The USB section is closed. It is the drives that have no drivers. It looks like disk.sys may not be loading, but once Acronis is installed as a filter driver with snapman.sys, the normal drivers will not load without the Acronis driver.

    What drivers are loaded for those problem devices?

    What exactly happened that could have affected your drivers?

    Is there a restore point when all was working?
     
  4. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Here you go :)

    [​IMG]
     
  5. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
  6. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Interesting, Acronis seems to be unistalled , cant find it anywhere but maybe theres some leftover files.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Look under the driver tab for a drive that is working correctly. Is snapman.sys still being loaded?

    If Acronis is uninstalled and the driver is gone, that may be why the other ones aren't loading. Once installed, Acronis driver can never be removed from a system again, so far as I have seen, or it won't boot. Snapman.sys has a critical error level.

    Any drivers under that tab in the ones that are not working?

    Using a registry cleaner may have caused critical damage. They should never be used, especially on a system with trouble, because all they do is delete anythiing they don't understand. That often worsens problems.
     
  8. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thats what i got.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Click Driver Details to see what ones are loading on both the working and non-working drives.

    It is missing Acronis files that are causing the problem.
     
  10. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Do you think Reinstalling Acronis and then uninstalling it would change anything ???

    Now i know what to do if the installation goes bad, but i don't want to screw it up more then it already is ...
     
  11. arvindch

    arvindch Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Hi!

    For future reference, as I said in reply to the previous thread:
    I highly recommend a clone over an image of your Windows7 installation, especially when you have an external drive. I personally have a clone of my installation(30GB partition). It's way more efficient than reinstallation and reconfiguration. Also clonezilla requires no installation and it makes perfect bootable clones. :)
     
  12. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
  13. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Great , thanks , ill try that next time for sure !!!

    I wanted to reinstall Acronis for it to maybe fix what it did to my disk drivers ...
     
  14. arvindch

    arvindch Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Also, have you tried plugging in any other USB devices into the port?
     
  15. madspec

    madspec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Yup , all USB ports and front ones too, different controller .
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Corrupted drivers
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,459
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1036160

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice