Solved: Could a shaky IDE cable cause heat problems?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Skivvywaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,965
The title pretty much says it all. I have a round IDE cable that is maybe questionable. Could this give any heat issues. I'll be back to check on this because right now I am going to yank the thing out and install a flat ribbon. :confused:

My machine got warmer after the install. Maybe not related but I am going to pull it.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
Did you accidently leave a case fan unplugged? I've done that an incredibly stupid amount of times while fuddling w/ the cables inside. I've never heard of round IDE cables generating heat. Do they get really warm to the touch?

Did you test the temp. the second time in a warmer place than you were at when you tested the temp. the first time? Variations in temperature outside the case will affect the temperature inside the case, air cooling can only ever keep it matched with the ambient room. So that can affect the reading.
 

Skivvywaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,965
I might just be paranoind WarC. I have just recovered from disaster and I am really watching the machine closely. I got hit by a spike last week and it wiped me out.

I am now running a XP3200+ and it runs a little warmer than I am used to. I want to use the stock cooler though because I am tired of listening to a 747 in this room.

All my fans are working and I am back on brand new ribbon cables. Man I am idling at 51*C though. Peg her out with prime95 or game for awhile and she'll hit 62*C. Not deadly but damned warm. I just don't want the volcano on this chip.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
A faulty IDE cable can cause data corruption but I seriously doubt it could increase the heat inside your machine, if anything those rounded cables should improve airflow.
 

Skivvywaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,965
Yeah, I would think so. I folded the flat ones and folded them in beside my cdroms though. 6 to 1 half a dozen to the other. It didn't help my heat or make it any worse. I know the chip can hit 85 before it starts to fry but I have idled in the upper 30's for the last couple of years.

I used AS5 and even reseated the sink. Oh well.;) Might have something to do with the 400 FSB.
 

Skivvywaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,965
I am using the stock sink. I have a thermaltake volcano but I am tired of hearing it. I'll set my asus probe to alarm at 65*C and if it hit that I'll put the 747 superjet back in it.

The probe is actually right on in this board. Same as the bios readout.
 

Skivvywaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,965
The 747 flies again. I put my volcano 11+ back on the machine. Full load pegged with prime95 and 55 max.

Now that isn't bad for a 3200+. It might even get better after a few days of burn in.

Tower, are we cleared for take off? :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top