1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Counter Strike Source Problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by Italianman91, Jan 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Italianman91

    Italianman91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    236
    Okay when i start up I see CS:S " LOADING " on the bottom right hand corner...
    but seconds later I get an error message-

    failed to lock vertex buffer in CMeshDX8::LockVertexBuffer

    And after hitting okay i see..

    hl2.exe - Application Error

    The instruction at "0x242ab624" referenced memory at "0x0d3fa3fc". The memory could not be "read"

    Click OK to terminate the program



    Ive updated to DX 9.0c
    Tried with and without SP2
    Updated to the latest catalyst drivers...
    Reinstalling CS:S + Steam

    i dont know what else to do?

    could it have something to do with virtual memory... anything would be great

    Thank You, Italianman91
     
  2. GripS

    GripS

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,113
    This error is usually the result of faulty memory.

    Check your ram in it's current configuration with memtest86.

    I have seen others with your problem cure it by relaxing the memory timings and/or increasing the DDR voltage.
     
  3. Italianman91

    Italianman91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    236
    How can I "relax the memory timings and/or increase the DDR voltage."

    I have 1-512mb DDR PC2100
    1-256mb DDR PC2100
     
  4. GripS

    GripS

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,113
    This is done in the BIOS. It depends on the motherboard on how you would enter the BIOS but most common is 'delete' as the system is first powered on.

    There you would look around in the BIOS for the setting adjustments. It varies so it's a matter of looking around.

    To determine where your memory is at as far as timings right now you can download CPU-Z. Once downloaded click on the 'memory' tab. This will let you know which settings are set to what. Write this information down before entering the BIOS so you know which setting to set to which value.

    Let's look at my memory for instance. Currently i'm at CAS(CL)-2.0\ RAS to CAS Delay-2\ RAS precharge-2\ Cycle time(tras)-6. If i were to relax the timings i would go from 2-2-2-6(where i'm at now) to 2.5-3-3-8(just an example).

    As for DDR voltage. Currently it will be set at either 2.5 or 2.6 volts. Increase to 2.7.

    Do timings or voltage one at a time. As this is a matter of trial and error we only want to do what is necessary to make the ram stable. This is why i suggest first that you test it as it is now with memtest86.

    There's no quick cure here. Let memtest86 run for a couple of hours(it will run until you stop it). Be patient.
     
  5. Italianman91

    Italianman91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    236
    Well it turns out that ATI had new drivers for catalyst (6.1) so every thing works =) thank you
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/436341

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice