Solved: Cpu and heatsink

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

PSCO2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
730
I noticed recently that my CPU does not have a heatsink.
This was a retail, not OEM.

The comp is running at 32 - 35C at idle to 50 at full load.

Should it have come with a heatsink or do I need to buy one?

Thanks,
Paul
 

Attachments

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,773
Have you opened the case and looked to see if there really is no heatsink fan?

Did you build this system or did you purchase it already assembled?

I highly doubt you do not have a hsf since it would overheat within seconds of pw ON.
 

PSCO2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
730
That is how i realized there is no heatshink.
I had to open case to install a hdd.

I purchased it from Tigerdirect as a build - the parts are on the invoice I included in first post.

When I run the Asus Suite 11, it shows no CPU fan.
 

Attachments

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,773
If you look carefully at your invoice, you will see you have a retail cpu/fan. Retail cpus come with a hsf. As I said if you really did not have a hsf, it would overheat in seconds.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,773
When you opened the case, did you see something that looked like this pic?
 

Attachments

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,773
Take a picture of what you are referring to as a cpu without a hsf and post it here.
 

PSCO2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
730
Take a picture of what you are referring to as a cpu without a hsf and post it here.
I'm sorry.
I don't know what I previously looked at - there is indeed a heatsink fan.
I guess when I looked at the Asus report and saw CPU opt at zero, I thought there was no fan.

Sorry I took up so much of your time.
Thanks again,
Paul
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,773
No problem. Probe is made for a LOT [in fact almost all] asus boards. The opt is for a second fan ie when you have a heatsink that uses two fans.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top