1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: CPU overheating for no apparant reason

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by XJDHDR, Oct 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. XJDHDR

    XJDHDR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    I see. So if there is too little pressure, the motherboard acts as if there is no CPU installed.

    I'm guessing that the TDP is about 75 - 80*C. After I placed that aluminium foil between the CPU and heatsink, my brother tested the computer's stability by playing a game using that motherboard and CPU. The game (Prototype) had a lot of stuttering while playing with the problem CPU, compared to playing the game on our other PC which uses a Pentium 4 2.8GHz HT (200MHz slower than the problem CPU) where there was very little stuttering. To make sure though, is there any way I can find out what the sSpec number is?
     
  2. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    When you get your thermal compound and get ready to apply it, clean the top of the processor so it's absolutely clean, and you should be able to see (may need a magnifying glass) a 5 digit alpha/numeric code or possibly just a 5 digit alpha code (sSpec number) etched on top of the processor, for example SL68B or SLAPP or something like the examples.

    Post the 5 digit code and I will link you to a spec sheet that will give you all the information on that particular processor.

    After you get the sSpec number you can go to the motherboard manufacturers site, and make sure the processor is supported by that particular motherboard.
     
  3. XJDHDR

    XJDHDR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    The thermal grease I ordered finally arrived yesterday afternoon. I applied it to the CPU following CrjDriver's instructions. The CPU's temperature now rises to a maximum temperature of about 50*C. It looks like my problem has been solved. To everyone who provided a suggestion, thank you very much.

    As for the sSpec number, this is what is engraved on the CPU:
    INTEL (H)(C) '04
    Pentium (R) 4
    630 SL7Z9 China
    3.00 GHz/ 2M/ 800/ 04A
    5519A975
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,936
    thanks for providing the update, as it always good to know the solution to the problem and will also help other people with the same problem searching
    would you now mark solved
    at the top of your first post is a button mark solved
     
  5. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,679
    50C under load is fine. Looks like you got it fixed (y)(y)
     
  7. XJDHDR

    XJDHDR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    @Etaf
    You're welcome. I was going to mark it solved as soon as Win2kPro provided the information on my CPU.

    @Win2kPro
    Thank you for all the information and help you provided.
     
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    You're welcome. (y)
     
  9. Izzeho

    Izzeho

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    just wanted to post and say this may fix my issue also. I never knew CPU paste could make that much of a difference, but considering how adamant so many of you are.. I'll pick some up tomorrow...

    Ironically I have almost identically specced computer reaching very much similar temperatures. The computer has a completely corrupted hard drive but I'll fix that once it stays on for more than 20 seconds.
     
  10. XJDHDR

    XJDHDR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Yes, thermal grease is very important. That's why it is applied to every microprocessor that has a heatsink attached.

    In my case though, I thought there was enough thermal grease applied to the CPU. Or I did at first. I was wrong though.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/870339