1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: CPU Runs very high with games

Discussion in 'Games' started by GeoLuj, Jan 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GeoLuj

    GeoLuj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Techs: Please help! My CPU is spiking to 80%-100% during game play while I am playing Pogo Games on pogo.com. This problem has been happening for a long time so I started watching my Task Mgr to try to figure out what is causing this but I've had no luck so I need your help.

    I have been playing pogo games for years, using either IE or FF. Yesterday I changed browsers to Google Chrome thinking there was a compatibility issue between IE/FF and Java but that wasn't the case b/c my CPU also spikes with Chrome but different programs cause the spike. Through my own research I have found the following programs to cause the spike: java, adobe flash, adobe reader, plugin container, alg and now it's chrome.exe. When alg.exe was cauing the high CP usuage I checked my computer and found alg.exe in C:\Win\$NTServicePackUninstall$, C:\Win/Sys32, C:\Win\ServicePackFiles\i386 and alg.exe-275708cg.pf in c:\Win\Prefetch. I thought I might have a virus so I ran a full scan using SuperAntiSpyware which did not correct the problem so I then did a system restore back to Jan 11th. After that alg.exe still appears on my Task Mgr but no longer caused the extreme usage. Now the extreme usage is being caused by chrome.exe if I use Google Chrome and java.exe if I use Internet Explorer or Firefox. Note: The fans turn on high (and loud) for about a minute and the CPU spikes to 80%-100%, but only after playing for an hour or more. If I continue to play, this happens about every 30 minutes or so.

    Before doing anything else I thought it would be best to ask your experts to check my logfile and see what is casuing this problem. HJ log is as follows. Systems Info is: Windows XP Home Edition, SP3, Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20 GHz, 0.99 GB of RAM.

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
    Scan saved at 6:58:23 PM, on 1/26/2013
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\afwServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\AvastSvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\1286688786\ee\AOLSoftware.exe
    C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe
    C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\avastUI.exe
    C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASCORE.EXE
    C:\program files\real\realplayer\update\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\jqs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamscheduler.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    C:\Program Files\CDBurnerXP\NMSAccessU.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WLIDSVC.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\SoftwareUpdate\YahooAUService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    C:\Program Files\AOL 9.0a\waol.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WLIDSvcM.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\ACS\AOLacsd.exe
    C:\Program Files\AOL 9.0a\shellmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\Topspeed\3.0\aoltpsd3.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugin-container.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\Desktop\HijackThis Jan 26 2013.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.pogo.com/?pageSection=cp_header_home
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://www.aim.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 127.0.0.1
    R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: &Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4EFB-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: RealPlayer Download and Record Plugin for Internet Explorer - {3049C3E9-B461-4BC5-8870-4C09146192CA} - C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Real\RealPlayer\BrowserRecordPlugin\IE\rpbrowserrecordplugin.dll
    O2 - BHO: AOL Toolbar Loader - {3ef64538-8b54-4573-b48f-4d34b0238ab2} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\aoltb.dll
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5AA2BA46-9913-4dc7-9620-69AB0FA17AE7} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! IE Services Button - {5BAB4B5B-68BC-4B02-94D6-2FC0DE4A7897} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\common\yiesrvc.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {70BC2DCB-CEB7-42DF-BE8A-195ED025D5D0} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In SSV Helper - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: avast! WebRep - {8E5E2654-AD2D-48bf-AC2D-D17F00898D06} - C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\aswWebRepIE.dll
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live ID Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {9427041a-a8dc-4d06-9a68-93873486e957} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live Toolbar Helper - {BDBD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {E166C33C-2783-4308-BB20-E15F1EAF8900} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {F2AA9440-6328-4933-B7C9-A6CCDF9CBF6D} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: SingleInstance Class - {FDAD4DA1-61A2-4FD8-9C17-86F7AC245081} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\YTSingleInstance.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Windows Live Toolbar - {BDAD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\yt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {ba00b7b1-0351-477a-b948-23e3ee5a73d4} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\aoltb.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: avast! WebRep - {8E5E2654-AD2D-48bf-AC2D-D17F00898D06} - C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\aswWebRepIE.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HostManager] C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\1286688786\ee\AOLSoftware.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] "C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avast] "C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\avastUI.exe" /nogui
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe ARM] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0\AdobeARM.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\program files\real\realplayer\update\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ISUSPM Startup] C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\INSTAL~1\UPDATE~1\ISUSPM.exe -startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [APSDaemon] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Apple Application Support\APSDaemon.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime Alternative\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Google Update] "C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe" /c
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AOL Fast Start] "C:\Program Files\AOL 9.0a\AOL.EXE" -b
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Windows Live Search - res://C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll/search.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Google Photos Screensa&ver - res://C:\WINDOWS\system32\GPhotos.scr/200
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Windows &Live Favorites - http://favorites.live.com/quickadd.aspx
    O9 - Extra button: AT&T Yahoo! Services - {5BAB4B5B-68BC-4B02-94D6-2FC0DE4A7897} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\common\yiesrvc.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99f7-4bb4-88d8-fa1d4f56a2ab} (Installation Support) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\Yinsthelper20073151.dll
    O16 - DPF: {83A4D5A6-E2C1-4EDD-AD48-1A1C50BD06EF} (Image Uploader Control) - https://mediamanager.vzw.com/web/static/20110912/lib/ImageUploader6.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DF780F87-FF2B-4DF8-92D0-73DB16A1543A} - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/web_games/popcap/bejeweled2/popcaploader_v6.cab
    O16 - DPF: {FFFFFFFF-CACE-BABE-BABE-00AA0055595A} - http://www.trueswitch.com/sbcyahoo/TrueInstallSBC.exe
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: cbXOFwTM - Invalid registry found
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: SAS Core Service (!SASCORE) - SUPERAntiSpyware.com - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASCORE.EXE
    O23 - Service: Adobe Flash Player Update Service (AdobeFlashPlayerUpdateSvc) - Adobe Systems Incorporated - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\FlashPlayerUpdateService.exe
    O23 - Service: AOL Connectivity Service (AOL ACS) - AOL LLC - C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\ACS\AOLAcsd.exe
    O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - AVAST Software - C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\AvastSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: avast! Firewall - AVAST Software - C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\afwServ.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate) (gupdate) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdatem) (gupdatem) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
    O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Oracle Corporation - C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\jqs.exe
    O23 - Service: MBAMScheduler - Malwarebytes Corporation - C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamscheduler.exe
    O23 - Service: MBAMService - Malwarebytes Corporation - C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    O23 - Service: Mozilla Maintenance Service (MozillaMaintenance) - Mozilla Foundation - C:\Program Files\Mozilla Maintenance Service\maintenanceservice.exe
    O23 - Service: NMSAccess - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CDBurnerXP\NMSAccessU.exe
    O23 - Service: Yahoo! Updater (YahooAUService) - Yahoo! Inc. - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\SoftwareUpdate\YahooAUService.exe

    --
    End of file - 10469 bytes
     
  2. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    1 GB ram? Up it to 3 or 4 GB and you should see a much more stable/swifter response from the OS.

    I would think that the OS is using a lot of virtual memory and swapping very often to the HDD.
     
  3. nikomaster

    nikomaster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Flash based games and videos could eat your processor time..I see you have a pentium 4 so there is no secret why the game takes over the entire processor. Pentium 4 has only 1 core so the operating system assigns the entire load to the game.

    Just remember Games are high demanding CPU software applications. the best way to solve is by upgrading your CPU with more cores.
     
  4. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    I also vote for RAM if you can't go a full new system. 1gig is very low even for a Pentium 4. Just do your research for the right speed and type of RAM. Also, older RAM may be expensive so shop around and check reviews.
    My old single core with 2 gigs and a 512 video card started having trouble with new web games. More and more web pages are getting graphically "heavy". You gotta remember the computer is trying to render everything on the screen and any ads that may be trying to cycle. Plus any antivirus or other background programs, all that eats into your CPU and RAM.

    Maybe even a "cheaper" video card to ease the stress on the system RAM.
    I'm saying cheaper just because the system is outdated and not really worth throwing much money into.
     
  5. nikomaster

    nikomaster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    I agree, a better video card could help too.
     
  6. GeoLuj

    GeoLuj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Thank you all for the help. Sorry I didn't respond earlier. I was expecting to see an email notification about replies (which I usually get with this forum) but this with this post.

    Okay, so how do I update RAM or video card? Any recommendations as to how much RAM I need or what type of video card to buy. What will this computer handle?
     
  7. GeoLuj

    GeoLuj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Sorry. Just re-read and saw that foxidrive recommened 3-4 GB of RAM. That answers one question. Will the upgrade of RAM be enough or should I also upgrade the video card?
     
  8. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    My advice is to try the RAM and see how it behaves. I don't think that Flash games are as hungry for video resources than most dedicated games.

    You'll have to check the ram slots for your motherboard and what they can handle.
    If there is only two slots then you may need to replace two modules, if both slots are populated.

    In any case see what your motherboard can handle. If it takes 2 GB modules then two of those would do for 4 GB. 32 Bit Windows can only use around 3GB.
     
  9. nikomaster

    nikomaster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    I'd recommend you to update your CPU. The structure of a game requires high demand of your CPU regardless of your Video Card or RAM. You still need a powerful CPU to make it work better and get less CPU usage.

    Having a good video card helps to decrease the CPU usage as it gets all the graphics processing load, but the remaining Game tasks such as A.I collision detection and all other math calculations still lays on the CPU.

    Having more RAM only helps to decrease the usage of virtual memory which involves the high usage of the hard drive.
     
  10. GeoLuj

    GeoLuj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Thank you all very much for your help. I will follow your advise and report back. I suppose I shouldn't play games until I update my system, right? Is this excessive game play destroying my computer?

    This site is awesome !
     
  11. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    No, it's all silicon. The hard drive is the most fragile and it's pure luck if they fail or not, in a reasonable timeframe (and if they aren't dropped).

    Everything else is electronic and should last - but again you could be unlucky and a part fails. Also see the 'capacitor plague' article on wikipedia for an interesting tale.

    Fans are also mechanical and will wear eventually.

    Play your games and don't worry. :)
     
  12. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    @nikomaster: If you don't have enough RAM then the hard drive access will be enormous and then reading game resources off the hard drive will be impossibly slow, making the game slow. The order I would recommend is RAM/CPU/Video and if you can spring for a solid state drive then that's also in the mix.

    But maybe the OP can pick up a faster CPU at a low price after the RAM upgrade.
     
  13. nikomaster

    nikomaster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    I know this, however, I was just trying to answer the OP main question. High CPU usage, which also slows the computer a lot and increase the risk of overheating. I would also add a couple of extra gb of RAM to the upgrade.
     
  14. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    Well, our recommendations for parts are very dependent on price of the parts. You need to research many things.
    What can your motherboard handle for upgrades.
    Then, since it is pretty old what is the price and availability for this outdated hardware.
    Do your research on what you may need to upgrade and get a total price. It may actually be cheaper or a better idea to just get a new system, rather than keep throwing upgrades in.
     
  15. GeoLuj

    GeoLuj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Thank you all again. As I said, I will check into the upgrade to see if it's worth it for a computer this old however I did want to mention that my computer works perfectly fine. Even game play works fine and nothing is slow - not even the games. The only annoyance is the fans kicking into high gear every now and again during game play. I was afraid that my game play was overheating the CPU and that it may 'burn out'. If that's the case I will definitely stop b/c I have some very important files on this computer. My files are backed up on a flash drive but nonetheless, I still wouldn't want to lose them here.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087021

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice