Solved: CPU Upgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TheVaLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2013
Messages
19
Hello everyone.

I have a Pentium 4 2.4GHz processor and a Compaq 07e8h motherboard.
Since this CPU is weak, I think I should upgrade to another CPU. Now I am asking is my motherboard (Compaq 07E8H) compatible with this CPU: Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 3.20GHz

As I see it's FSB Speed that is different, and the socket PPGA and mine is mPGA


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
Processor Count: 1
RAM: 1023 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000, 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 39195 MB, Free - 13603 MB; V: Total - 38154 MB, Free - 25848 MB;
Motherboard: Compaq, 07E8h
 
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
600
Since the FSB speed is higher than the one in there, it will downclock itself to 1.1Ghz. I've experienced this sadly the hard way!
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,155
What's the model name and model number of that Compaq desktop?

What's the part/product number(P/N) on it?

(It appears to be about a 2002-era model)

-----------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,491
I wouldn't spend money on an upgrade like this.

Your performance gain will be negligible.
 

TheVaLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2013
Messages
19
I thought upgrading it to the new CPU, will give me a little performance more, but...

@flavalle it's compaq evo d510 MT Base Model
@Crazy10 so upgrading it will be downclocked and it will run at lower speed?

@prunejuice I am trying to upgrade this pc a little bit, even though I'll get another one, I need to upgrade this a little bit.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,476
That was a budget system when built approx 13yrs ago. In no way is it worth putting any money into upgrading. If you received the cpu for nothing, then it might be worth the time to install the cpu.

Just because the cpu is the same socket ie 478 or whatever does not mean it is going to run on that mb. The bios must have the correct microcode to run the cpu, set the correct vcore, etc. I doubt even hp can tell you if the cpu you are asking about will work; it is too old and I doubt anyone has access to mb specs any longer. [At least not without doing an extensive search which I do not think anyone is going to do for you]

In short, if you got the cpu for nothing, it might be worth attempting the upgrade however if it costs anything, it is NOT worth putting any money into that system.
 

TheVaLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2013
Messages
19
Yeah, thank you both.
I've got it free and that's why I am searching for how-to's; etc.
However, thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top