Solved: CPU usage 100% explorer.exe culprit (revisited)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Well, after over a month's trouble free computing since its vanquishing this issue appears to have returned for no apparent reason.

http://forums.techguy.org/windows-xp/1077411-solved-cpu-usage-100-explorer.html?highlight=explorer%2Eexe+100+Windows+XP

Are you up to giving it another go Blues?



Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.60GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
Processor Count: 1
RAM: 1271 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller, 64 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 76308 MB, Free - 48487 MB; F: Total - 152625 MB, Free - 75862 MB; I: Total - 476821 MB, Free - 278314 MB;
Motherboard: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD, MS-6577
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Do you still have the Process Explorer program?

Right-click on the explorer.exe process and select Properties...

Then, choose the Threads tab.

What thread is showing high CPU?
 

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Hi Phantom, thanks for responding.

Thread TID 2128 (whatever that means) jumps between 65 and 85 CPU (I assume that means % usage as it doesn't actually state)
Start Address is shown as ntdll.dll+0x10250
 

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Hi Blues

I tried backtracking but couldn't replicate the outcome.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Hi Phantom, thanks for responding.

Thread TID 2128 (whatever that means) jumps between 65 and 85 CPU (I assume that means % usage as it doesn't actually state)
Start Address is shown as ntdll.dll+0x10250
Unfortunately, that doesn't really help.

How is explorer.exe behaving when running your computer in Safe Mode?

If CPU usage goes down in that mode, try a Clean Boot troubleshooting procedure to hopefully isolate a possible offending service or startup item. Run it for both Services and Startup items.
 

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Ok. So in safe mode explorer.exe is behaving itself and not using any CPU.

Will follow your instructions and try a clean boot then report back.
 

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Followed steps as below:
Step 2: Configure Selective Startup options

In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click Selective Startup on the General tab.
Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
Note The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.
Click the Services tab.
Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
Click Disable All, and then click OK.
When you are prompted, click Restart.


On restart all appeared normal with explorer.exe showing zero CPU usage.

Have now restarted on numerous occasions adding services until all services are now enabled and explorer.exe has not misbehaved at any time.

Not quite sure what happened.

Further instructions?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Followed steps as below:
Step 2: Configure Selective Startup options

In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click Selective Startup on the General tab.
Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
Note The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.
Click the Services tab.
Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
Click Disable All, and then click OK.
When you are prompted, click Restart.


On restart all appeared normal with explorer.exe showing zero CPU usage.

Have now restarted on numerous occasions adding services until all services are now enabled and explorer.exe has not misbehaved at any time.

Not quite sure what happened.

Further instructions?
Have you done the same for items under the Startup tab?
 

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Hadn't done, but have done now.

All 18 start-up items have now been enabled and explorer.exe remains well behaved.
 

prophet1

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
70
Nope, not a thing. Simply followed the instructions as set out at post #10 and then incrementally enabled all services and then all start-up items.

Although everything appears fine it doesn't really help with pinpointing the source of the problem does it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top