1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: CPU usage 100% explorer.exe culprit (revisited)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by prophet1, Jan 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Well, after over a month's trouble free computing since its vanquishing this issue appears to have returned for no apparent reason.

    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-xp/1077411-solved-cpu-usage-100-explorer.html?highlight=explorer%2Eexe+100+Windows+XP

    Are you up to giving it another go Blues?



    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.60GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1271 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller, 64 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 76308 MB, Free - 48487 MB; F: Total - 152625 MB, Free - 75862 MB; I: Total - 476821 MB, Free - 278314 MB;
    Motherboard: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD, MS-6577
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Do you still have the Process Explorer program?

    Right-click on the explorer.exe process and select Properties...

    Then, choose the Threads tab.

    What thread is showing high CPU?
     
  3. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Hi Phantom, thanks for responding.

    Thread TID 2128 (whatever that means) jumps between 65 and 85 CPU (I assume that means % usage as it doesn't actually state)
    Start Address is shown as ntdll.dll+0x10250
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,825
    Not without repeating all suggestions in your past posts.

    I will leave it to Phantom010 to make other suggestions ;)
     
  5. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Hi Blues

    I tried backtracking but couldn't replicate the outcome.
     
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,825
    Hi, I will be watching what is suggested - and good luck.
    :)
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Unfortunately, that doesn't really help.

    How is explorer.exe behaving when running your computer in Safe Mode?

    If CPU usage goes down in that mode, try a Clean Boot troubleshooting procedure to hopefully isolate a possible offending service or startup item. Run it for both Services and Startup items.
     
  8. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Ok. So in safe mode explorer.exe is behaving itself and not using any CPU.

    Will follow your instructions and try a clean boot then report back.
     
  9. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Followed steps as below:
    Step 2: Configure Selective Startup options

    In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click Selective Startup on the General tab.
    Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
    Note The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.
    Click the Services tab.
    Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
    Click Disable All, and then click OK.
    When you are prompted, click Restart.


    On restart all appeared normal with explorer.exe showing zero CPU usage.

    Have now restarted on numerous occasions adding services until all services are now enabled and explorer.exe has not misbehaved at any time.

    Not quite sure what happened.

    Further instructions?
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Have you done the same for items under the Startup tab?
     
  11. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Hadn't done, but have done now.

    All 18 start-up items have now been enabled and explorer.exe remains well behaved.
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What about in Normal Mode?
     
  13. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    That is in normal mode.
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You haven't changed anything. :confused:
     
  15. prophet1

    prophet1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Nope, not a thing. Simply followed the instructions as set out at post #10 and then incrementally enabled all services and then all start-up items.

    Although everything appears fine it doesn't really help with pinpointing the source of the problem does it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084023

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice