1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Create a "Change Password" form for Login in Access 2007

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by krs1716, Apr 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    Hello All! I have created a database that uses a login form that directs people to specific forms based on priviledges. However, I would like to provide a form that allows users to change their passwords (preferably with a confirm password box). Also, I have one user defined as Administrator, with a special form. I would like to create a special form for the Administrator to be able to add/delete/edit users and their security levels.

    I found similar threads, but none that answered my specific questions- relative to my current setup.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Did you use my Login Form?
    It would only take a minor modification to create what you need for changing the password.
     
  3. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    I don't know if I'm using your login form. I found coding and references in multiple places and pieced them together to create a login form that worked for me.

    The database I'm referencing is the same one that we've discussed in other threads (i.e. Creating a monthly query/report in Access 2007)
     
  4. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    It is not my login form.
    Do you want to use a VBA Recordset or SQL to update the tblEmployees table or use that table as the record Source for the Password change form?
     
  5. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    I don't really know what the benefits/faults are of each method...so it doesn't really matter to me. Do you think that one method is better than the other?
     
  6. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    The simplest method is to use the table/query as the Form record source.
     
  7. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    That works for me. Do I just start by making a form with that as the record source and then add the CBS?
     
  8. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    Whoops...vba. Autocorrect at work. :)
     
  9. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Yes, that is the way, but you could hide the fields if you want and use unbound fields for the updating on the form and then VBA to update the hidden fields.
     
  10. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    Well, my original thought was that after employees chose their name, typed in their password, and clicked login, a form or message box (not sure which would be best) would appear asking if they would like to change their password. If they chose "No", they would be directed to the home page. If they chose yes, they would be directed to a form that showed their Name (unchangeable field) and a box where they type in the old password, new password, and confirm new password. VBA would then confirm the old password and check to make sure the new password and confirm new password were the same before changing the password in the table. Not sure how that fits into what you mentioned, but I'm slightly confused about the unbound fields and hidden fields.

    Is that too complicated? Is there a better way? Would I be better off changing my login form to your login form and going about this from that perspective?
     
  11. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Your method would work well, can I suggest that you just have a button on the Form for "Change Password" rather than a pop up?
     
  12. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    A button on the Home page?
     
  13. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Yes or the login form?
     
  14. krs1716

    krs1716 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    Okay. I put a button on the Home page, but I don't know how to make the right change password form to open. As of now, it opens a blank version.
     
  15. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Have you created the new Password Change form?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1051023