Solved: Create Publisher addin w/ VS 2005

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zack Barresse

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
I'm trying to make a Publisher addin because I'm just plain sick of it's Object Model. If it were more adept like Excel's Object Model this would be a breeze (hehe - j/k).

I have Visual Studio 2005 (received it as a gift within this last year (y) .. but have yet to be proficient with it) to create the addin. I'm having a difficult time getting my feet off the ground here. I think I could use a little guidance. If I could get the first few steps down here I could take the rest of it away I think.

Anybody do anything like this before? Thanks for reading this. :)
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2005
Messages
3,086
Hey Zack,

What kind of add-in are you after? Or are you looking for general information on how to hook your program into Publishers Object Model?

Here's a Microsoft Knowledge Base article pertaining to VB 6.0, but I imagine the principle is pretty similar. That might get you started.

I believe the idea behind add-ins is, always work with objects that are bound at run-time, because you'll want it to be as portable as possible (in theory--though your particular issue is with Publisher). Actually, that's more of a guess on my part, but it seems practical to me.

You'll also want to make sure that the properties of the Publisher objects support the type of manipulation you want to do with the add-in.

I don't know, I got nothin'. I've never ported my common routines to add-in status.

GL, if I think I can add anything more I'll post back.

chris.
 

Zack Barresse

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
Thanks Chris.

I guess the biggest problem (I think) I am facing, is being able to work with the Publisher Application object. In the COM references there are items for reference for every other office application (on it's own) except Publisher. The only reference there is the reference for all Office xx.0 Object Libraries. And I keep getting errors when I just specify Application.object.

I can reference Excel and get access to the Excel Object Model very easily. I'm not sure if I'm having a tough time in Publisher because of it's under-developed Object Model or if I just don't know the correct way to do it. (Or both!)

Thanks for taking a look at this Chris. I appreciate your time and feedback. :)
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2005
Messages
3,086
What version of Publisher do you have?

Have you seen these articles?

7 Things Developers Should Know About the Publisher 2003 Object Model, Part 1
7 Things Developers Should Know About the Publisher 2003 Object Model, Part 2
Publisher 2003: Using the NewDocument and DocumentOpen Events

I just realized I have Publisher 2000 on my workstation, so I can play around. I have a feeling you have Publisher 2000 as well, or else you wouldn't be missing the application object. If that's the case, and it was just recently added to the object model, I'll see what else I can come up with.

But I just got tasked with a project that will take me the weekend, so. I'll see what I can find in the meantime.

chris.
 

Zack Barresse

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
Thanks Chris,

I've seen the first two but not the last one. I'll research it. I have 2000 but just got 2003 at my work pc. I'll see what I can work up. If I get anywhere, I'll post the results. :)
 

Zack Barresse

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
I got it done! Ended up having to get VB6 and do it .. but it's done nonetheless. :D

Thanks everyone for all your help!!
 

Zack Barresse

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
Heh, I don't know about that. It was very simple actually. The scope of what I know is fairly narrow, especially when it comes to VB (good lord even more with VB.NET).

But I do really, really appreciate all the input and for sticking with me. That means a lot to me. Thanks!! :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top