1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Creating a Multi-Criteria Search Form, Access 2007

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Dobber92, Jul 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dobber92

Dobber92 Thread Starter

I'm fairly new to Access, and I'm looking for a way to make a search form that has both text boxes and combo boxes associated with fields in my table, titled Tbl_DCR. I want to be able to select certain field values and have either a sub-form or the datasheet section of a split-form display any records that have that field value in them. So if I selected values from two different combo boxes, it would only display records that have both field values in them, and so on. I'm running Access 2007 on XP. Please help!:(

2. Rockn

Rockn

Try setting up a basic select query and get that working the way you want with the criteria you want. This will help with how you will build your form and display the underlying data.

3. OBP

OBP Trusted Advisor

You can either do as Rockn suggests and use a Query with Criteria to provide the data for your form/subform or you can use VBA code to set the Form's Filter Property.
    To see a very good example database have a look at the attached database originally created & posted by Allen Browne in 2006.

Attached Files:

4. Dobber92

Dobber92 Thread Starter

That example database exactly what I'm looking for. Allen did a very good job at describing the code logic. However, the filter did not work when I tried it. I'll try to use this on my database anyways, but you may want to take a look at the example yourself and see if there's anything wrong with it.

Thanks!

5. Dobber92

Dobber92 Thread Starter