1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Creating a Rule in Outlook 2010 for signature deployment

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by GMantel, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GMantel

    GMantel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    We are using a virtually server and cannot add any software at the Exchange server level. We have office in the US and Canada.

    Our PC's are running Windows XP with Outlook 2010. We would like Outlook to send / respond to e-mails that are assigned to the Canadian Contacts category, or that have a .ca extension to their e-mail addresses with a separate signature (Canadian Address info) than the standard one.

    Templates rules simply send a blank e-mail with the proper signature (Does not allow us to type anything before sending) so that didn't work. The only custom action we could perform would require purchasing 3rd party software to accomplish this. We are considering this.

    The other option seems to be writing a script to perform this action but we have no idea how to accomplish this. Should we attempt ourselves or hire a coder?

    Any feedback in solving this issue is most appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    The Outlook object model has an event called ItemSend that is fired when you attempt to send the email. You just need to add some logic to grab the email addresses from the .To field and if it contains the format or string you are looking for you can add the signature programatically.

    Google Outlook ItemSend for more info and and also take a look at the link below that explains how to add the signature using VBA.

    http://www.rondebruin.nl/mail/folder3/signature.htm

    Rollin
     
  3. GMantel

    GMantel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the input, Ron. This is beyond my capabilities so I will look into having a developer do this for us.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977593

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice