[SOLVED] Creative CD-ROM won't read disks

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Hi,

Ach...

I got a second-hand Creative CD-ROM from a friend (Model: Infra 60, CD4020E). He told me it worked fine. I installed it, then booted. Win2K said not a word. Went into Device Manager and there it was - my old CD-ROM (the one I had removed prior to installing this one) was gone and the new Creative CD-ROM was already installed. But it refuses to read disks. The @#%#[email protected]%#$...

I am at a loss here. What should I do, what should I check? I left the jumper setting in 'Slave' mode, BTW.

Thanks,
Daniel.
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
I don't think that's the case. Might do it anyway, but I will bet the CD-ROM it's not dust.
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
I will clarify:

I have an ancient Acer CD-ROM. Has served me well (4 years), still works, well, not fine, but still is working. Has problems reading media burned using new equipment. I thought of buying a DVD-ROM (you know, better buy something that reads both DVDs & regular CD-ROMS, if I'm already spending money). Told my friend. He tells me his friend has a used CD-ROM that works well that he could give me (for free, mind). He told me it worked just fine. Now, I have no reason to doubt his words, especially that he gave it to me for free.

I put it in, and it seems dead. I mean, I stick in a disk, the lamp flashes for a couple of secs, then goes off, and in the Windows Explorer it shows that there is no disk in the drive. It feels like, well, one of two: either the CD-ROM is sooooo dead, or I'm missing something. The reason I posted here is that I thought you guys would surely know what it is I'm missing (DL driver from firm site & install it, or something, check this, fiddle with that), so that I don't just go and throw away a good CD-ROM due to my own ignorance.

:)

And it's: "With friends like that, who needs any enemas?".
Daniel.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
If it is showing in device manager without a problem and lens cleaner does not help the drive is probably bad. There usually is no need for a special driver as a standard driver from windows almost always works.

I have a dvd drive and like it and have no problems with the new disksso as you mentioned that may be an option. If you have a fast computer there is no problen watching movies on it either. Some of the older, slower computers you will get a stuttering (hesitation) when watching movies though. The price has really come down on them now also.
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
No no no.... tried it restarting in Safe Mode with Command Prompt, and had the same result. Then I jumpered it as Master, and now it works just fine!

A lesson learned.

Thanks people,
Daniel.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Must have been on the secondary ide cable.......

That'll do it every time ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top