1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ctrl-alt-del doesn't work in the usual way.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jdevine, Feb 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Awhile back, I installed an alternative task manager (on the advice of a computer magazine) and set it up to replace the normal Windows Task Manager. Fine, but I didn't like the alternative. So I uninstalled it. Now, if I hit ctrl-alt-del, I don't get anything but a DOS window that closes quickly and automatically.

    So how can I make ctrl-alt-del do what it normally does??

    Jim
     
  2. Claymore

    Claymore

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,548
  3. karbo

    karbo Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
  4. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    I tried those. It seems I have a virus (which I doubt) or I have to turn on the alerter service. How do I do that?
    Jim
     
  5. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    I found the task manager in the system32 directory. If I try to run it, I get the DOS window that flashed on and instantly off. What's the problem?
    Jim
     
  6. karbo

    karbo Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Click Start

    Click Run

    Type regedit

    Click OK The Registry Editor will now open

    Browse to the following key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\
    CurrentVersion\Policies\system

    In the right pane, look for the value: DisableTaskMgr

    Right click DisableTaskMgr and select Delete. (When prompted with "Are you sure you want to delete this value", select Yes.

    Now browse to the following key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\
    CurrentVersion\policies\system

    In the right pane, look for the value: DisableTaskMgr

    Right click DisableTaskMgr and select Delete. (When prompted with "Are you sure you want to delete this value", select Yes.

    Close the Registry by choosing File | Exit

    You should now be able to access Task Manager. If not, reboot into Safe Mode and repeat the steps outlined above.
     
  7. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    For what it's worth, I found a suggestion on-line and I made a copy of taskmgr.exe and renamed it "taskmgr.com." That worked, unlike taskmgr.exe. Ctrl-alt-del still doesn't work.
    Jim
     
  8. Claymore

    Claymore

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,548
    If you run Task Manager from a command window, does it open?
    Start => Run and type in cmd
    In the window that opens, type in taskmgr

    Maybe that replacement program you had somehow replaced the existing Task Manager. I've attached a copy, zipped. Unzip it and put it in C:\Windows\System32 - replacing the existing copy.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks. If I run "taskmgr.exe" in (what I call) a DOS window, it doesn't work. "taskmgr" runs "taskmgr.com." I copied "taskmgr.exe" from Claymore's zip file into c:\windows\system32 and it didn't change anything.

    I tried Karbo's advice. It didn't work and I can't figure out how to start in safe mode using this HP machine (pavilion a1540n). When I reboot, it jumps to the choice of "recovery," a boot menu (in case I want to boot from a CD), or the setup/BIOS program.
    Jim
     
  10. Claymore

    Claymore

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,548
    And just to add - it may not be actual malware, but some change made by the program you tried. You should probably run a virus scan anyway. It may pick up the change.
     
  11. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks, I'm doing a virus scan (using Avast's product). We shall see...
    Jim
     
  12. Claymore

    Claymore

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,548
    In case you need it, this should give you a working temporary replacement for the Task Manager:
    http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_emerutils.htm

    You could also post a HiJackThis log if you want:

    Download hijackthis here:
    http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/HJTsetup.exe

    Save HJTsetup.exe to your desktop.
    Double-click on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
    By default it will install to C:\Program Files\HiJackThis.
    Continue to click Next in the setup dialogue boxes until you get to the Select Additional Tasks dialogue.
    Put a check next to 'Create a desktop icon' and click 'Next' again.
    Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
    At the final dialogue box click 'Finish' and it will launch HijackThis.

    Click on the 'Do a system scan and save a log file' button. It will scan and then ask you to save the log.
    Click 'Save' to save the log file. The log will open in Notepad.
    Click Edit => Select All => Edit => Copy.
    Paste the log in your next post.
     
  13. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    My computer has no viruses (virii?) Replacing taskmgr.exe with a new version doesn't seem to work. Claymore, I'm pretty sure there's no spy-ware. What next?
    Jim
     
  14. Claymore

    Claymore

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,548
    Hello again, Jim.
    From what you described, I didn't think you could be infested, but it had to be checked.

    Two suggestions:

    Do a System Restore back to the time before you installed that program.

    And/or
    If you have an XP CD or access to an i386 folder:
    Start = Run and type in:
    sfc /scannow {space after sfc}
    Let it run to the end.

    p.s. Yes, it's "viruses". No such word as virii as a plural of virus :)
     
  15. jdevine

    jdevine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Hi,

    I'll try the sfc /scannow tomorrow when I have time. But what does it do?

    also, what is the "alerter"? Maybe my problem is with it?

    Jim
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/798889