Solved: curser frozen after boot up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
running windows xp....on dell desktop.......
boots up to desktop screen but curser stationary and keyboard not funtioning
Keybourd is wireless and all appears connected as lights on.
Mouse is usb and this working well when used on another machine.
I am not knowledgable enough to fathom out the problem so if there is some kind patient techie person to assist me I would be very grateful.:)
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,959
Restart in safe mode..tap F8 as your system is starting up.
If you can - Click on Start Button>run>type
msconfig
Click Launch System restore.

Then choose a date prior to the problem.
 

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
grateful thx....it didn't work sadly but seeing I was a pickle my son took notice and tried another way and it's now system restoring.
Hopefully all will be well!
He is now acting very smug and will not tell me what he did !!!:
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,959
Let us know if the smugness is premature.
;)
Keep us updated.
 

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
Oh dear ..system restore isn't system restoring......what now please.

Son admitted he just disconnected keyboard and connected again!:(
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,959
Did it start to restore and then stop?

I have to log off for about an hour.
Try..
XP-Startup.
Boot from the Xp install Cd...when prompted press [R]
Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
When prompted for password.
Press Enter.
Type chkdsk /r
[note space after chkdsk]

When fininshed.
Type Exit
And press Enter.
 

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
yes it did.....but
Think it is moving very slowly so will leave it overnight. Never known it take so long.

My machine is a Del and came reloaded so no disk.

I had it reformatted a couple of months ago by my reliable computer shop man and it has been a nightmare since.......maybe time to do as my clever dick son suggests and ditch it but it is so much more comfortable and familiar to use than this Win 7 shiny new laptop :;)
Thanks a lot for helping me.....I will update tomorrow D
 

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
Hi blue.......system restore still going!! 75%
will persevere and update you
Have a good day
 

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
Good evening Blue......

Ugh! System restore is STILL running but so slowly.....not much more then 3/4 . What do you advise please?
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,959
It should not be taking this long.
Usually if you interrupt the restore - it will reboot and say that the system restore could not be done.
In your case, you cannot start said Pc.
Can you borrow an Xp Cd - if will have to be the same as the one installed - Home or Professional.
You could then run chkdsk /r

What is the model number of the Dell Pc?
There should be a recovery partition that you access by tapping an F number at start up.
That would take it back to factory settings - but all data etc will be lost.
 

Dorcas

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
99
My patience paid off........only took 48 hours!!!!!.....machine running smoothly at present.
Don't expect I will have solved the previous problems but at least I have got into it and it isn't frozen yet. Bit frightened to close down ....
Thank you so much for advice......I might be back for more :)
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,959
Good work.
When you decide to shut down - are you still without the install Cd?

At shut down.
Right click My Computer>Open
Right click - Local disk - should be C:
Click Properties.

Tools>Error checking.
Tick both boxes
Click start.
It will say it cannot scan, do you want it to scan at the next start up..
Click Yes - restart Pc.

It will then check the disk at the next start up - let it run until finished.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top