1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Custom PC won't install Windows 7!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by ffiibb, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi all
    Resently I built a custom computer. I assembled it and it all looked good... but as it got to the startup of windows 7, just past the "starting windows" part, it reboots. Then I wanted to install windows 7 again to see if it would help. But when it gets to the "Starting windows" part, it stays there. I've tried countless things including: Testing the RAM, Changing the PSU, getting another windows 7 install disk, shifting the GPU. But none have worked the least!

    I hope you guys can help!

    You can see my specs at my profile
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,224
    How did you test the ram? You need to run memtest over night, cause 1 or 2 passes will usually reveal nothing.
     
  3. managed

    managed Allan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,359
    Some Corsair ram needs a higher voltage then normal, have you checked that ?

    Try it with just one 8GB Ram stick and at stock speeds if overclocked.

    (Is this the bundle from scan.co.uk ?)
     
  4. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hey guys
    thanks for the fast reply!

    I have not tried to run memtest. But I'm pretty new to those programs, I'll try!

    And I have checked if i could with one stick of RAM, but I will try testing some higher voltage!

    Thanks again will try the memtest tonight and beging testing higher voltage now.
    Will return with results in about 12 hours. :)

    BTW it is not bought on only one website. Bought from 3 or 4 different!
     
  5. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi again
    I monitored the voltage of the RAM it is just above what it needs.
    So i dont think it is that.
    and I'll begin memtest and see if anything turn up. I'll run it for 8-10 hours :(
     
  6. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi
    Just an update: 30 min. of test has not revealed anything 40% of 1st test
     
  7. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Where the Hard drives new?

    and its getting stuck after it is booting from CD/DVD Legit W7 disc?
     
  8. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    No the HDDs are not new, but they worked in my old computer, and they also worked in my computer before that.

    Like said they worked in my old computer and i mounted them in my new. when it didn't want to boot i put them back in my old comuter, and it worked like a charm.

    And no it is not the legimate windows 7 disk. But i've tried an original windows xp disk!

    Ty for the reply
     
  9. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Ok guys I'm through 3 pass and no errors yet. I'll let it be on for the night and see if some of the later tests will reveal anything. BTW I live in denmark so I'm not up all the time you are.
     
  10. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hey
    Memtest has now been running for 21 hours and is nearly don with 6th pass. In the bottom it says: "***** Pass complete, no errors, press ESC to exit*****". But is there anything else i sould look for on memtest. I juswt dont understand all the numbers! :mad:
     
  11. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    How many passes sould i let it do, because it has been running for 21 hours now!
     
  12. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Memtest has now run for 30 hours. 8 passes and no errors. i will upload a picture that shows memtest.
     
  13. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
  14. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,224
    Since it has been running 30 hrs without errors, then RAM is not the problem.

    HD is ok. Ram is ok. Then try reseat the cpu.
     
  15. ffiibb

    ffiibb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Done! This was a pain in the ***! But not the problem! :-(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058608