1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: D-Link wireless adapter problems

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by mwredt, May 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mwredt

    mwredt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    546
    I am trying to install a D-Link G510 AirPlus G wireless adapter in a desktop computer running Windows XP. All other requirements for CPU and memory are met and exceeded. The instructions are to install the software BEFORE installing the hardware. But when I insert the CD and it starts and I click on "Install Drivers" a box comes up with this message:
    "Do you want to completely remove the selected application and all of it's components?"
    The only option it gives me is "Okay" or "Cancel". I am not trying to remove, I want to install. But I thought I would clear it and start fresh so I went to "Add/Remove programs" and it showed the D-Link program. I tried to remove it and it appears to go through the process but it does not remove it from the installed programs list.
    I don't know what to do now.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,012
    Download and install the latest driver for the D-Link G510 AirPlus G from HERE.

    Once you've done this, shut down the machine and connect the network adapter.

    Boot back up and you should be able to connect.
     
  3. mwredt

    mwredt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    546
    That worked great! Now, one more thing has me puzzled. When I boot up it is telling me that it has found new hardware that is a raid controller. I have not installed anything but the network adapter and I don't how to install the for the raid controller which I don't think I use anyway. I suspect this is something on the motherboard. And in Device Manager it now lists two network adapters. The second one (3Com Gigabit) must be built into the motherboard but is not wireless. Should that one now be disabled?
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,012
    You don't have your harddrives in any sort of RAID configuration?

    That is the LAN adapter for if you want to connect a CAT5 cable. Leave that enabled.
     
  5. mwredt

    mwredt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    546
    That makes sense. Thank you.
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,012
    You're welcome. (y)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1053073