Solved: DCOM EVENT ID 10010 error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
Every time I boot, I get a DCOM Event ID 10010 error which occurs during the boot. The message is that The Server {7F631684-4D69-4765-B0A3-B2598F2FA80A} did not register within the required time. Computer seems to be operating fine. Just wondering if this is something that should be address and if there is a fix for it. Running WXP

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
Scan saved at 9:34:45 AM, on 12/15/2012
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe
C:\Program Files\Roxio\Drag-to-Disc\DrgToDsc.exe
C:\Program Files\Gadwin Systems\PrintScreen\PrintScreen.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehRecvr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehSched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\GEARSec.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllhost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\MsMpEng.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HiJackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://msn.foxsports.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/nero/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In SSV Helper - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\5.7.7529.1424\swg.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O3 - Toolbar: XFINITY Toolbar - {4b9bcce8-a70b-402a-a7e1-db96831ee26f} - C:\Program Files\xfin_portal\comcastdx.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSC] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RoxioDragToDisc] C:\Program Files\Roxio\Drag-to-Disc\DrgToDsc.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Gadwin PrintScreen] "C:\Program Files\Gadwin Systems\PrintScreen\PrintScreen.exe" /nosplash
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Cookienator] "C:\Program Files\Cookienator\cookienator.exe" /auto
O4 - Global Startup: Shortcut to FMRMD32.lnk = D:\Createacard\FMRMD32.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Google Photos Screensa&ver - res://C:\WINDOWS\system32\GPhotos.scr/200
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/mic...ls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1345045081250
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O18 - Protocol: intu-help-qb1 - {9B0F96C7-2E4B-433E-ABF3-043BA1B54AE3} - (no file)
O18 - Protocol: intu-help-qb2 - {84D77A00-41B5-4B8B-8ADF-86486D72E749} - (no file)
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O23 - Service: GEARSecurity - GEAR Software - C:\WINDOWS\System32\GEARSec.exe

--
End of file - 4618 bytes
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,620
DCOM is a huge security risk in XP. Steve Gibson created a small app that will disable DCOM in Windows. Go read about it. DCOMbobulator
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,074
Try this
IF YOU ARE not familiar with such operations, please TAKE your time and follow the guidance exactly
BEFORE you commence create a system restore point
DO A search in the registry
To search the registry run regedit and select Edit > Find and then copy/paste the bolded string into the find field.

{7F631684-4D69-4765-B0A3-B2598F2FA80A}


when it finds that key, if it does
  1. In the right pane, double-click Default. The Edit String dialog box is displayed.
  2. NOTE the Value data box of the Edit String dialog
  3. Then exit out of there.
This should ID the program for you that is causing the problem


PLEASE NOTE
I am unfamiliar with the program suggested by my colleague Lance1 - but you may wish to ascertain what the program is that is apparently causing this message and then follow my colleagues suggestion to disable
DCOM which should presumably stop the message appearing in the first place.
 

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
I found the folder and it contains two ab files [Default and APPID] It also has three sub folders [Local Server 32, ProgID, and VersionIndepenantProg-all set to Default]
 

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
When I double click it reads under Value Data: RecordingDispatcher Class
 

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
I exported [saved] it just in case. Now should I delete it?? Or try to modify it??
 

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
For Lance I read the article and downloaded the program. I'm hesitant to run the program since it says it will totally shut down Port 135 which is also used by several other programs, although I'm pretty sure I don't use or need either one. I'll see what results I get with Macboatmasters suggestion before I pursue yours any further. Thanks
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,074
Please be a litle patient
exported [saved] it just in case. Now should I delete it?? Or try to modify it??
We will reply when we have decided the best way forward
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,074
This
{7F631684-4D69-4765-B0A3-B2598F2FA80A}

is known as the GUID - a unique identifier
I was hoping that we may find what program/application it is that is causing it.

See this
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/support/ee/transform.aspx?ProdName=Windows%20Operating%20System&ProdVer=5.0&EvtID=10010&EvtSrc=DCOM&LCID=1033


I do expect that it will be of assistance but what is shown on ProgID please


Is there any chance you can connect any recent changes to this message
Did you have another anti-virus before you installed MSE
McAfee
Norton
by any chance
 

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
Info on three sub folders under {7F63..............}

Local server 32 Default Value Data: C\Windows\ehome\ehRec.exe

ehRec.exe is a MS program


ProgID Default Value Data: ehomeSchedulerServive.Recording Dispatcher


VersionIndepentantProg Default ehomeSchedulerServive.Recording Dispatcher


I had the following anti virus programs at one time:McAfee, Norton, and AVE They have all been removed, but who knows what they left behind.

As I mentioned in the original posting, the computer is running fine right now. The only reason I even noticed this error message is that I was working on another problem that was freezing up my computer and stopping it from running at all. I was getting an atapi error message when the freeze ups occurred and just happened to notice the DCOM error message. FYI, I fixed the freeze up problem by opening the computer and tightened the various electrical connections. One must have been loose. So the bottom line is that the DCOM error may have been occurring for a long while, and since it doesn't seem to affect the computer operation, I never knew it was occurring.

I'll be leaving for the evening in about an hour, but I'll check in when I get back later this evening. Thank you
Jack
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,074
Running Process
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehSched.exe

It is as far as I can ascertain
Windows Media CenterSchedulerService

Filename:ehsched.exe

Command:C:\Windows\ehome\ehsched.exe
Description:Starts and stops recording of TV programs within Windows Media Center.

File Location:C:\Windows\ehome\ehsched.exe


Do the following please

1. Check please in msconfig startup entries if you have
ehSched

2. Go start
type in run
services.msc

then check there please
if you have the service
Windows Media Centre Scheduler service

Do you have a program on the computer which you use to record TV

and in respect of the link you sent I know you were trying to be helpful and I am obliged BUT I WOULD NOT touch it with a bargepole
 

jdn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
187
I have removed the Windows Media Center altogether from my computer and the scheduler is not in my startup. I'm wondering why you ask about ehsched.exe when it was ehRec.exe that showed up in Local Server 32.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top