Solved: Deactivated user account by mistake

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TriggerHog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
Hi,

I not long installed windows 7 and i wanted to use the default 'Administrator' account instead of the 'Admin' user i creating at install and now im locked out, this was my mistake;

Using cmd i typed net user administrator active:yes, it confirmed successful,
then, net user administrator PASSWORD, it confirmed successful,
then, net user admin active:no it confirmed successful,
then(thinking that the administrator account will now appear in safe mode) i logged out.

The problem is that the administrator account does not appear at all and i can not restall windows about i stalled it using a previous OS not a Disk.

Can anyone help please?

P.S have a 2nd HDD with Windows 2000 if i can doing anything from there but it can only run in safe mode.

Thank You,
Trig
 

TriggerHog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
i can not login in to 'admin' as its deactivated and the 'administrator' doent not appear(even in safemode) because 'admin' is not actually delected.

I now have no other way of accessing it, not even a disk.
 

TriggerHog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
is there any way of getting the 'administrator' login dialog or cmd/dos that way i can activate 'admin' again.
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
From your post it seems you can, at least, get into safe mode?
Then:
At the command prompt type the following
net user administrator /active

Log out and log back in as administrator.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
when you boot to desktop , I assume it is toa limited user account
pres CtrL+Alt+Del & & select switch usser
that should give you the option of logging into default admin account
It looks like you have that active BUT hiden
 

TriggerHog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
i cant actually login to use cmd or switch user even in safe mode,

I currently have 2 accounts:
Administrator(default admin) - activated but still hidden
Admin(created admin) - deactivated but still shown.

In the 'repair the computer' option(where i can use cmd) from the F8 boot menu it asks for 2 accounts, 'admin' that doesnt work and 'homegroup$' but it asks for password and i havnt set one and ive tried the one windows gives you when you setup a homegroup.

If i can login there i maybe able to use the net user command.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
I know no way of getting in except do a reinstall of windows
 

TriggerHog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
i MAY of found a solution, my mates got a HDD with xp which i should be able to use to access and install win7 using a partition that windows created which has the boot files for the install
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
If you are getting as far as the login screen, try this:
Press CTRL+ALT+DEL twice and you'll get another login screen.
Here you can type in the username and password.
You have to manually type in administrator and the appropriate password to login.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
58
If all of these options fail. try a repair of windows.
  • Boot with the CD, select REPAIR WINDOWS at the disk partitioner.
  • When You are in GUI setup mode (after the blue screen to partition and copy system files), press
  • Press [SHIFT] + [F10] this will bring up a command console.
  • Try "net user administrator" there.
  • Finish setup and be done.
 

TriggerHog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
If you are getting as far as the login screen, try this:
Press CTRL+ALT+DEL twice and you'll get another login screen.
Here you can type in the username and password.
You have to manually type in administrator and the appropriate password to login.


That option has been disabled in windows 7 by default.

If all of these options fail. try a repair of windows.
  • Boot with the CD, select REPAIR WINDOWS at the disk partitioner.
  • When You are in GUI setup mode (after the blue screen to partition and copy system files), press
  • Press [SHIFT] + [F10] this will bring up a command console.
  • Try "net user administrator" there.
  • Finish setup and be done.


would this work with a xp disk?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top