Solved: Dead Pixel? Or not?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
As you can see by my screen shots below, it looks like I have a dead pixel to the right of the recycle bin.

Ive tried changing my desktop backgrounds but it still remains...

When I drag a window over the pixel its fine...

So what is it?

(I know a screenshot would not capture a dead pixel) Thats why its odd!
 

Attachments

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,090
..I know a screenshot would not capture a dead pixel) Thats why its odd!
You're Right .. A screen shot captures the Picture going to the monitor ... Not what's on the monitor.

I don't know if a Screen shot captures the picture before or after the video card ...
But it looks like this is a hardware problem in the computer.

I've overlayed your 2 pictures to see where the pixel falls .. and I'm wondering why it doesn't show in the window.

What happens if you change the background color ??

Edit .. FWIW ... I'm showing that the Pixel is a shade of Blue
 

Attachments

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,364
A black back round always seems to show the stuck pixel more than any other type of back round.

Have you tried the fixes in post 2?
 

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
Well I shutdown my computer last night, and when I turned it on this morning the pixel was gone...

I also ran the jsscreenfix for about 3 minutes...

Thanks...
 

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
ok, well now this is just weird.. I have the same issue with the 32bit version of windows 7 on my dell inspiron 1525?


P.S. I uploaded a png? but techsupport converted it to jpg?
 

Attachments

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,090
Next time ... Try uploading a gif file type ..
They're cleaner and do not show compression artifacting.

The fact that you can capture this with a screen shot ... Makes me think it's not the monitor.
Is this the same monitor on a different computer ???
 

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
no... the first monitor i took the screenies with was with my main system...

This screenshot is from the laptop screen...

the dot seems to be in the same place? !
 

Attachments

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,090
Do I understand correctly ???? ...
Two different computers and two different monitors ..
What's common between the two ???

Not sure I got the two display resolutions the same ..
But it doesn't look like they're in the same place
 

Attachments

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
Yes...

My Desktop is 1440/900 Dell Monitor

And my Laptop is just laptop screen...

The dot is in the exact place.. its just the resolution thats fooling you...
 

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
Well, when I turn aero off then on the dot goes away... there seems to be some aero issues...

Im sure microsoft will be releasing updates soon...
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,090
Anything in common between the two ... Software maybe ???
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,090
Windows 7 is Common .. That explains it ... Is this the RTM version
I'll have to look later ... I think I have my Aero turned off in W7 RTM

What are you using to grab screen shots ???

I've seen a sneak preview .. There's a bunch of W7 updates waiting on Oct 22.
I'll have to add this to my long list of W7 problems.
 

peck1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
1,259
Yes RTM version of both copies (32bit on laptop) (64bit on my gaming rig)

Im using Print Screen Key for screen shots...

Then I paste em in paint, and save em as pngs (lossless)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top