1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Deeply eccentric home network behaviour...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by zeroplusalpha, Oct 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zeroplusalpha

zeroplusalpha Thread Starter

A tentative 'Hello World' - please bear with me, I'm kind of new at this...

I've recently set up a wireless network at home - Netgear WirelessG router, one laptop running Windows Vista, one Dell desktop running xp service pack 2. The USB adapter that came with the router is attached to the desktop, and the laptop already has one built in, but it's the laptop that's exhibiting some very strange behaviour.

After making sure the net connection was running fine, I locked the network down with MAC filtering, SSID broadcast disabling, and enabling WPA encryption. However, whilst scanning for available wireless networks, the laptop found TWO Unnamed Networks at full strength, the signals for which could have ONLY originated from the installed router as the laptop couldn't find them when the router was turned off. The strange thing was they appeared to be under different kinds of encryption (WEP and WPA respectively), even though I'm pretty sure they're actually the same network (ie the one installed in the house). The laptop could go on the one under WPA encryption, but sometimes (and ONLY sometimes) was restricted to Local Access.

I did a few other tests by changing the router settings online from the desktop (which I'll omit for the sake of brevity), which sometimes resulted in the laptop being connected to Network Name (Network Name...) or New Network (Old Network Name...).

I'm really not sure what this is symptomatic of, but if anybody can shed any light on this, I would be really grateful. Details upon request...