1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: default programs, help

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by suttonvista, Feb 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. suttonvista

    suttonvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6850 @ 3.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 4029 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 430, 1023 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 1418560 MB, Free - 1344386 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, DP35DP
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    Hi Support, Re default program settings, as an example I have gone into - set default programs for Libre office-set program associations - & accidentally clicked set as default, now 62 of 63 defaults are selected, but I want to unselect & I don't seem to be able to untick any selections. I tried "choose defaults for this section" to untick but that won't work either. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930
    First Name:
    Ron
  3. suttonvista

    suttonvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you Ron for your help, I am new to these forum pages & it has taken me half an hour to even send you a reply, I will try your suggestion & see how I go, Again thanks
     
  4. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930
    First Name:
    Ron
    Good luck and let us know :)
     
  5. suttonvista

    suttonvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    suttonvista:
    Thanks for posting your system information.

    Welcome to TechGuy.org.

    Windows 7, & previous versions of Windows, open a particular file type [ for example, .txt ] with a particular program [ in this case, notepad ] because .txt file types are associated with Notepad.exe. This pheonomenon is called file association.

    If you have problems understanding a step, let us know. We are here to help.

    Before making any changes, manually create a system restore point.
    Here's a tutorial.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/697-system-restore-point-create.html

    If CaptainRon's suggestion does not work, please visit this page.
    http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-set-default-programs-in-windows-7.html

    This may be beyond your current capabilities, but keep it mind, for future reference.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/19449-default-file-type-associations-restore.html

    Again, ask questions before performing an action if you are uncertain about the steps.

    Finally, if it is easier for you to communicate inpictures instead of words, you can provide us with screen shots.
    Use W7's snipping tool, or follow the instructions, below
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Use-Snipping-Tool-to-capture-screen-shots

    or
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    screenshot

    On your keyboard, look for a key labeled "print screen" OR "PrtSc" OR "PRN SCN" or some variation.
    When you want to capture that which is displayed, press the print screen button.
    Open Paint [ start > programs / all programs > accessories > paint [ rarely MS Paint]
    Maximize Paint
    left click "edit"
    Left click "paste"
    file > save as.
    Save the file to any location of your choice.
    File name: your choice, for example: "filename"
    save as type: left click down pointing arrow. Left click jpg / jpeg
    Left click "save" / "ok".

    The file name has now been saved as filename.jpg [ or filename.jpeg ].


    Return to the thread.
    Left click "go advanced".

    Left click "manage attachments"
    left click "browse"
    browse to the location, on your computer, where you saved "filename.jpg"
    Left click filename.jpg
    left click "open"
    left click Upload"
    close window of upload screen after the file has been uploaded.

    enter text into the reply area.
    left click "submit"


    If there is information on the screen that you don't want to display, you can use the eraser [ looks like a bar of soap, left column, 2nd from the top. You can remove large areas by clicking on the dotted outline column button, top, right column, then drag your mouse while holding down left mouse button ] to surround that which you don't want displayed. Then, press "delete" on your keyboard. Then save.

    :)

    Keep us posted.

    Best of success.

    RF123
     
  7. suttonvista

    suttonvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks RF 123 I am a complete novice at using these forums & a bit overwhelmed by this side of it but will look through your suggestions & try to pluck up the courage to give these things a go. I expect it will take me some time but will let you know how I go Again thank you
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    suttonvista:
    I thought that the amount of information I provided might overwhelm you, but I wanted to include all of it for sake of completeness.

    I suggest that you think of the information as a multi course meal. When you are full, take a break. We'll be around. We are in o sh.

    edit
    We are in NO rush.

    end edit


    Keep us posted.

    RF123
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Are you saying everything is now opening with LibreOffice?
     
  10. suttonvista

    suttonvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    To Captain Ron & Rainforest 123 , I finally did a system restore & this fixed the default problems I had, so thank you for that. The reason I got into this mess in the first place was by trying to make some changes to default settings but will leave well enough alone (for now anyway). My husband says I have 2 stikes against me, being female & blonde so I'm sure there will more problems to come. again thanks for your help.
    suttonvista
     
  11. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930
    First Name:
    Ron
    Glad to hear :)
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    s v :
    Congratulations.

    Thanks for providing the steps that solved your problem.

    Thanks for marking the thread "solved".

    unsubscribed

    RF123
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090768

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice