Solved: Dell desktop froze

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cookie1086

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
34
My dell desktop froze while I was searching the net, I waited for a bit to see if it would come back, I then powered it off on the modem, waited a few seconds, then powered it back on, it goes to the start up screen get about 90% finished then freezes again, I've also tried hitting F2 and it says entering set up, but then does nothing. Please help need it for an research paper due tomorrow
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
679
Cookie1086

Could you please post the make and model of your PC and which OS you are using (including Service Packs you have)?

Is this something totally new in the last couple of weeks or so, or has your Dell experienced episodes of slowing before?
 

Cookie1086

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
34
Dell dimension XPS running windows XP, model WHL, no it has never done this before I was told, it has been running slow, but is also not used everyday
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
679
Would this be the one Cookie1086?

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dimxpsg3/en/OM/j3186A01.pdf

This has a P4 processor and room for up to 4 GB of RAM. How much RAM memory do you have on board your machine?

Here's Wikipedia...is this a good description?
XPS 600 - The former flagship model of the XPS series that features an Intel dual-core Pentium D 950 processor, dual Nvidia GeForce 7900GTX in SLI mode, 7200 RPM SATA hard drive, and dual-channel DDR2 RAM. This case has not changed significantly over the past several generations, with the large aluminum plate on the front. Discontinued a few days after XPS 700 launch and succeeded by the XPS 700.

Just trying to compare this against a Dell GX270 that I once had for performance, so I can know what you should be expecting. I think I'm starting to understand. Pretty decent performance from an older machine...
 

Cookie1086

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
34
That would be it, not sure the exact amount but know there is plenty available
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,447
What's the 7-character "service tag" number on the sticker?

-----------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
679
Cookie1086...do you by chance have an installation disk of Windows XP handy? If your system is XP Pro, you willl need an XP Pro installation disk, if Home a Home one, etc...

I'd like to see if we can boot you to the install disk to run a Windows Repair...
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
679
Hey, flavalee...

Welcome to Cookie's non-booting Dell XPS 600 thread. Allow me to step aside so that you can assist Cookie back to a healthy Dell PC as fast as possible!
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,447
AtlBo:

There's no need for you to step aside.

Two heads can be better than one, and you may have some expertise that I don't.

I'm going off-line shortly for a few hours anyway.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,447
Cookie1086:

Don't overlook post #6.

That'll confirm the identity of your Dell.

-------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
679
OK flavalee...I'll stick around and see if I can pitch in and help! Thanks for your confidence...
 

Cookie1086

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
34
I'm waiting on the tag number, she is having trouble finding it, said it was not located on the back
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,447
If the sticker is missing, you should be able to get that number by accessing the BIOS.

With most Dells, pressing the F2 key when the Dell logo appears will bring it up.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

Cookie1086

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
34
When I press F2 it says entering setup, and freezes and does not do anything but stay on the start up screen
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top