1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: dell desktop wont power up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by huskermania, Jan 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. huskermania

    huskermania Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I have a dell desktop studio 540. I put windows 8 in it and forgot it was still waiting for me to pick a name for my pc. well yesterday i went to log on and it wouldnt turn on. The power button is yellowish/organish color not the normal white. Can this be fixed even if temp? Thank you

    kevin
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm guessing you actually have a Dell Studio Desktop D540 which has support for Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista 32-bit/64-bit and Windows 7 64-bit.

    What's the "service tag" number and/or "express service code" number on it?

    This is from page 24 of its on-line setup guide.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    just as an FYI, 8 most likely won't work on that....Dell doesn't even have drivers for W8 for that machine....
     
  4. huskermania

    huskermania Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Ok how d i put windows 7 back on there. It wont even power up.

    kevin
     
  5. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    did you read flavallee's post?
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    Please response to and answer the question in post #2.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. huskermania

    huskermania Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    sorry frank, I looked at your message and it didnt have nothing what you said but i see it now. here is the codes

    express service code: 6760973593
    service tag : 33tb4m1

    kevin
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to that express service code number and service tag number, you have this Dell Studio Desktop D540.

    According to its original system configuration, it shipped in March 2010 in the U.S.A. and came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

    It appears to have these primary devices:

    AMD Radeon HD 4350 Graphics (512 MB)

    Realtek ALC888 High Definition Audio

    Realtek RTL81xx PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet

    Pages 33 - 37 of its on-line setup guide have instructions for reinstalling the Windows operating system.

    I've included images of those instructions here to save you some time.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. huskermania

    huskermania Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Oh i know how to reinstall windows. It wont spin up with a install cd. I didnt notice the fans are working on it though. should i try a external to see it will boot up?

    kevin
     
  10. PcPhoenix

    PcPhoenix

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Does the computer simply not turn on?

    Unplug the power cord from the back. Press and hold the power button for 10 seconds. Plug the cord back in. Press the power button.

    EDIT: And if that doesn't work, try doing it after unplugging all connected devices from the back. Something might be shorting.
     
  11. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    Not sure why people are telling u to reinstall windows when u can't get a display:confused:
    Really sounds like the power supply has died
    So try a new power supply and u might be good to go!
     
  12. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    Please read flavallee's post. I don't know how else to ask this, but your answer is in that last image. Pretty sure replay read it. Your Dell is telling you the issue by the power button light color.

    thanks,

    v




    and howdy replay. :)
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    Kevin:

    This is what I previously submitted about the amber power light.

    I tend to agree it's a power supply issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. huskermania

    huskermania Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    well i had a friend come over that know a lot about computers and all of you are wrong. yes replay i did tell everyone that but no one seems to get it. It was a cmos battery i think he said. he took it out plugged it all in and it work. thanks guys for trying to help.

    kevin
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141518

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice