1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dell Inspiron 530 won't turn on

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nakamu919, Jun 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nakamu919

nakamu919 Thread Starter

Computer won't turn on. When I hit power button, it quickly blinks amber and makes a split second sound like something is turning inside, then nothing. If I hold the power button down, it will blink amber about every second and make the quick sound, but nothing turns on. Green light on back, below power cord, solid green. Everything is unplugged from the machine. Recently, from time to time, computer has been making constant noise, like fan running loud our perhaps hard drive??

Complete computer novice here. Thanks for any ideas.

2. AJScott

AJScott

Does any information come up on screen?

Otherwise, points to a power supply issue. First, try replace the power cord in the back that connects to your power outlet.

3. Megabite

Megabite

Howdy,

Even if the hard drive has failed it would still start....things that make it not start would be the power supply faulty needs replacing, or fan on the CPU heatsink faulty and or plugged with dust. But I had the 530 when I was working in Canada it was fine but the Powersupply was inferior.

I would start with the Powersuppy

4. nakamu919

nakamu919 Thread Starter

Thanks for quick tips. Nothing comes up on screen and I did try new power cord, bar and outlet. Will start looking into power supply.

5. nakamu919

nakamu919 Thread Starter

Opened the case and the heatsink (I think?; the thing with the fan on it?) was covered with dust. Blew dust off everything inside and now works. Great tips. Thanks.

6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!