1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: dell inspiron 6400 intel pro wireless 3945ABG card stopped working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lapid, Jan 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Hello,

    For some reason my card stopped working, I tried reinstalling the driver, fn + f2, and a few others basic thing, nothing is showing up, where I am with my phone I can see at least 5 network. my PC gets nothing,
    im running vista 32bit
    intel pro wireless 3945ABG
    dell inspiron laptop 6400
    I also tried a fixit microsoft tool for network, didnt work,
    Im on the net now using wired cable from my router

    Let me know if I need to run any commands, if so tell me how and how to copy paste here, im a little new to this



    thanks for the help
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    lets see the following please

    ipconfig /all
    xirrus screen shot


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Hello. thanks for the prompt answer, im running avast freeversion, I had in the past mcafee registered and maybe AVG, I did format my computer not so long ago , cant say if my wifi was working I wasnt usint it at the time.

    im running vista 32bit

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : john-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Dog2

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Dog2
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-B9-5D-28-1A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c44:cc0c:6dce:eadf%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 14, 2013 7:19:44 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 7:19:44 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Dog2
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Dog2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.102%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{50CB06DB-D1F6-4307-BA83-FAFEB313F849}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:208e:5f1:3f57:ff99(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::208e:5f1:3f57:ff99%9(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled





    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the adapter is seen in ipconfig /all but not receiving a signal

    i would a few things - a tcp/ip reset

    reseating the adapter and checking the aerial connections

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try reseating the wireless adapter

    If the adapter is easily accessible, usually through a cover on the bottom of the laptop.
    Remove and reinsert it carefully and firmly to make sure it is not loose.
    Then remove and carefully and firmly replace it several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion.
    At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are securely attached.
    NOte: This is not taking the machine apart. We do not recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    we dont usually suggest doing that
    most adapters are on the bottom of the laptop under a panel - But if they are located under the keyboard , then that can be a major task

    so I would not suggest that

    we may have already covered this ground

    When you formatted
    none of these product are on the PC

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the adapter and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    whats the satus of the wireless light - page 16

    page 19 shows the light for the wireless - as you say toggled with the
    try that switch

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    - try safemode with networking - wireless often does not work in this mode - but just incase
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    Did you install the wireless driver - or just update ?
     
  7. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Hello,

    I did as you asked, first the command prompt in admin, access denied for all, im in safemode, ive just reset the adapter (uninstall) my cpu resintalled after the reboot . I only have avast on my PC. I dont thing ive installed anything besides it on this comp

    fn f2 gives me nothing the light dosnt go on :(

    hope you have more ideas thanks !!
     
  8. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    I just did a reboot tried everything not in safe mode. winsock commands work but the other 2 I get access denied,
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats an issue then

    are you doing this
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box

    also - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works with the tcp/ipreset

    I have seen a security suite cause this type of issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
     
  10. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Yes i run as admin and also tried in safe mode but it didnt work

    Right now i dont have a firewall just avast free version , for those i had in the past i had maybe mcafee or avg i cant say if its after i format or not

    Where would i see the history? I dont think i had any trialware on it
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    run the removal tools for both of those

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
     
  12. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    hi Ive run the tool for all the versions just to be sure, reboot, fn f2, nothing , im still ready for more test. thanks
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I would re-install the driver - NOT just update but install
    you should have a service tag number written on the PC somewhere

    also the wireless manager maybe using the windows version WLAN or the DELL wireless manager and conficting or both not running

    check the services
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Status of Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

    To do this goto

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    SERVICES.MSC

    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
    If the service is set to Started or Stopped
    and
    If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

     
  14. lapid

    lapid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Ok i will try this weekend about the driver what i did:
    First ive uninstalled the driver then downloaded manualy the driver and installed it

    2nd try ive unstalled it and reboot and let my pc detect it and install, like you said

    Is that what you mean in your last communication?

    Ill give you the report for the other test thanks
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    pretty much

    may also be worth running a couple more things

    sfc /scannow
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/verify-the-integrity-of-windows-vista-system-files/

    and also
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Services - Fabar Service Scanner, free

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services on the PC goto

    http://www.technibble.com/fabar-service-scanner/

    and download the free scanner tool

    Theres a Direct link to the program here
    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/farbar/FSS.exe

    Now "double click" on the downloaded file to run the scanner , the scanner program will now open

    tick all the options. and then click on scan

    the scan results will open automatically in a seperate window in the notepad program.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste

    if you have any issues. A log file called FSS.txt will be created in the same directory as the program is run from.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085043

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice