1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dell laptop won't stay connected to wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by thatonegirl, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thatonegirl

    thatonegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    I need help with my dell inspiron 1011. It's the Nickelodeon edition.

    These are screenshots of the connections. I'm sorry, I'm not good at explaining what exactly I mean.
    And I messed up, I didn't click, I just hovered over it. Sorry, got my words mixed up.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    It's saying it's connected. And I AM for maybe 20 seconds then it stops. I know it's not the router because my friend/neighbor connected to it without a problem and my laptop worked on it perfectly 2 or so months ago. I've checked to make sure everything is up to date on it, and it is. It even says that the wireless card is working properly. We have a Belkin N 150 Wireless Router. But we used wired connections for everything except our laptop and the neighbors(by the way, she only just connected to it last night because we wanted to see if it was indeed the laptop or router and since hers worked, we think it's the laptop.) If you need any more information please let me know because I'm not sure what else to give you.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,505
    I'm guessing you have Windows XP and are using the Dell WLAN to manage the network.

    Make sure XP's Wireless Zero Configuration is not running (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services).

    Delete from the Dell WLAN utililty the wireless profile for your network, scan for networks and try to connect again.

    If still unsuccessful tell us what encryption you are using and please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. thatonegirl

    thatonegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    ok. I tried that and it still only kept connection for a few seconds.. Here is the ipconfig info.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Burch>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : L-J
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E/RTL8103E Family PCI
    -E Fast Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-E8-DC-F6-5D

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-60-76-0C-6A-7F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.134.229
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Burch>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,505
    You have an invalid static IP assigned to the wireless. Change it to dynamic and try again. That link actually applies to all versions of XP; you want to change the wireless connectoin instead of the "LAN."
     
  5. thatonegirl

    thatonegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thank you SO much. It worked perfectly. =]
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,505
    You're welcome. :) You can mark this Solved using the button at the upper left of the page.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918476