1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dell Laptops won't connect to internet.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by slj10, Aug 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slj10

    slj10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Hello,
    I am trying to help out my family with this question: I was trying to connect a Dell Studio 1458 laptop to the internet that we have. There is NO router, only a modem so the ethernet cord hooks directly from the cable modem to the computer. The laptop has wireless and wired internet capabilities (supposedly). It couldn't connect to a wireless internet and it wouldn't connect to the wired connection either. I got the same thing every time "Unidentified network: no internet access" Upon troubleshooting I get this error: "internet IP address cannot be configured." It is almost like the computer is not allowing internet accessing.

    The internet works fine because when tried on 2 other computers and everything worked fine. Ironically, this is also happening with my sister's Dell Inspiron laptop. Both computers have Windows 7 64x with Broadcom Gigabit Ethernet network cards. The driver for the network card was updated: no change. The device was disabled / enabled, no change. All firewalls and virus software disabled, no change. There are no detectable errors in the device manager.

    I am running out of ideas on what could be causing the problem and how to fix it. I am thinking it has something to do with how dell has the computers set-up, because two new dell computers are having the problem; but I have no idea how to approach it. Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

    Thank you!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,749
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post an ipconfig /all from one of the working machines and also from one of the dell machines - make sure we know which is which
    with that amount of kit - i think a router may be a good investment

    Whos the ISP and do they use MAC address for access - some ISPs will only allow a certain amount of machines to connect, in UK I know of one ISP that specifies upto 5 - but they have since been taken over, and they used MAC address and you had to go through a process when adding the machine to register the mac address

    Anyway assuming thats not the case
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    A firewall or security suite is a top suspect.
     
  4. slj10

    slj10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    ipconfig from original working computer: (below)
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : journot-fadbda4
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 173.22.215.235
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 173.22.208.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.84.119.224
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 97.64.183.164
    97.64.179.250
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 02, 2010 12:00:06 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 02, 2010 1:00:06 AM



    IP config from a sony laptop (internet works)
    C:\Users\Owner> ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Owner-VAIO
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8057 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8da7:1918:c986:9aa1%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 173.21.31.98(Preferred)
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.84.119.224
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890430

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    IP config from one of the dell laptops that won't connect to the internet:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Samantha-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.239.164(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890472

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    The reason there is no router is mainly because we tried installing one, and it never worked properly. The router's firewall would get "clogged" and then it would just shut off the connection.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What makes you think you have that many public IP addresses from the ISP? Most residential ISP accounts give you a single connection directly from the modem.
     
  6. slj10

    slj10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    I called the ISP and they said that the modem should connect to whatever computer is plugged into it, which is what I am trying to do. I called Dell and explained to them the problem, they claimed that if the computer cannot make a complete connection to the modem it will prevent the connection (they said it was some anti-hacker something), They suggested power-cycling the equipment, I did and it still wouldn't connect, and it killed the phone lines for a few days as well. If the modem is not functioning properly (which is highly suspect) and the computer is preventing access because the modem isn't functioning properly, that explains the issue. Hopefully when the family disbands in a few weeks the issues will resolve as well.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think that Dell does a good job of posting drivers and other information on their web site. However, in my experience their email tech support is essentially non-existent, and their phone support has had bad reviews for years. OTOH, maybe what they said is essentially what I said:

     
  8. slj10

    slj10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Yup, sounds about the same to me. Thanks for everyone's help!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/940045

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice