1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dell Latitude D520 with Windows 7 won't boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Lklein262, Jul 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lklein262

    Lklein262 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Hello all! My Dell Latitude D520 won't boot. It shows the the bios screen then repeats itself. I have not made any changes to software/hardware and I was using it 3 days before. Please help!:confused:
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,620
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Dell Latitude D520 laptop is several years old and originally came with Windows XP.

    What's the "service tag" number and/or "express service code" number on yours?

    How and when was Windows 7 installed in it?

    Is it running Windows 7 Home Basic or Home Premium or Professional or Ultimate, 32-bit or 64-bit?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Lklein262

    Lklein262 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    The Windows 7 was installed over 4 years ago via a bought installation disc, and it worked Perfectly. There is also a sticker that states Windows Vista as the preloaded OS as well as an OEM sticker to go with it. It is Windows 7 Pro x86 (32 bit).
    But why would you need the service tag? (just curious.)(y)
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,620
    First Name:
    Frank
    Having the service tag or express service code number serves several purposes for us when trying to help someone who has a Dell computer:

    It verifies the description of the Dell computer.

    It accesses its support site.

    It provides an accurate list of its hardware and drivers.

    It provides its age.

    It provides the Windows version which originally came in it.

    (y)

    It looks like that model laptop supports up to 4 GB of DDR2-667 RAM.

    Hopefully, you have at least 2 GB of RAM in it, or better yet have it maxed out.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015
  5. Lklein262

    Lklein262 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you for your help but after reading more about this online, I rummaged through my stuff, found the install disc, and repaired my computer. And it works now!:D(y):)
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,620
    First Name:
    Frank
    :) (y)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1151155

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice