1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: DELL Optiplex 755 / Windows XP Desktop Freezing Since Updates

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Kwatkins, Feb 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kwatkins

    Kwatkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Our network Admin released a group of updates on 2-15-11. I have one pc that has seemingly been affected.

    DELL OptiPlex 755
    Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz (2 cores)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Service Pack 3
    RAM 3326 MB

    The user advised that when he opens Outlook, SQL Server, Visual Basic, etc. his pc just freezes. The screen freezes in the current program. The time on the task bar is visible, but frozen. My remote access window is still connected, but he cannot see me moving the mouse and I am unable to get anything to function.

    We tried running Ad Aware, Malwarebytes, HiJack This and between them, there were just a few items found and removed. We removed all of the updates through Add/Remove Programs for the date in question. After rebooting, it still freezes. Most recently I tried a System Restore and it failed to complete. I am attaching the HiJack This log in case it could be helpful.

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
    Scan saved at 12:28:23 PM, on 2/17/2011
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal
    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec Endpoint Protection\Smc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe
    C:\Program Files\KACE\KBOX\KBOXSMMPService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec Endpoint Protection\Rtvscan.exe
    C:\Program Files\UltraVNC\WinVNC.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\SearchIndexer.exe
    C:\Program Files\UltraVNC\WinVNC.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec Endpoint Protection\SmcGui.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\Core\smax4pnp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\CLI.EXE
    C:\Program Files\KACE\KBOX\KBOXUserExtension.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\Msmsgs.exe
    C:\Program Files\Red Gate\SQL Prompt\RedGate.SQLPrompt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Desktop Search\WindowsSearch.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\notepad.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://localhost/DOCSecurity/WSSecurity.asmx
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = doc-pluto:80
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 10.144.43.56;<local>
    F2 - REG:system.ini: UserInit=C:\WINDOWS\system32\KUsrInit.exe,
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMAXPnP] C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\Core\smax4pnp.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATICCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\CLIStart.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBOXUserExtension] "C:\Program Files\KACE\KBOX\KBOXUserExtension.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\Msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - Global Startup: AutorunsDisabled
    O4 - Global Startup: SQL Prompt.lnk = C:\Program Files\Red Gate\SQL Prompt\RedGate.SQLPrompt.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Windows Search.lnk = C:\Program Files\Windows Desktop Search\WindowsSearch.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: @C:\Program Files\Messenger\Msgslang.dll,-61144 - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @C:\Program Files\Messenger\Msgslang.dll,-61144 - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/win...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1210190218770
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/mic...ls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1256066843576
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D821DC4A-0814-435E-9820-661C543A4679} (CRLDownloadWrapper Class) - http://drmlicense.one.microsoft.com/crlupdate/en/crlocx.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = doc.al
    O17 - HKLM\Software\..\Telephony: DomainName = doc.al
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = doc.al
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS2\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = doc.al
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS3\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = doc.al
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS3\Services\Tcpip\..\{BE6B3BDD-1DD7-425B-AF56-722787029B23}: NameServer = 10.131.89.10
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: kwinhook - kwinhook.dll (file missing)
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Software Updater (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: KBOX SMMP Management Service (KBOXSMMP) - Dell Inc. - C:\Program Files\KACE\KBOX\KBOXSMMPService.exe
    O23 - Service: Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service - Lavasoft - C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware\AAWService.exe
    O23 - Service: LiveUpdate - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\Symantec\LIVEUP~1\LUCOMS~1.EXE
    O23 - Service: Symantec Auto-upgrade Agent (Smcinst) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec Endpoint Protection\SmcLU\Setup\smcinst.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Symantec Management Client (SmcService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec Endpoint Protection\Smc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Endpoint Protection (Symantec AntiVirus) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec\Symantec Endpoint Protection\Rtvscan.exe
    O23 - Service: uvnc_service - UltraVNC - C:\Program Files\UltraVNC\WinVNC.exe
    --
    End of file - 7703 bytes


    Thanks for any help before I resort to re-imaging his drive.

    Kevin
     
  2. DKTaber

    DKTaber

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    Since the PC worked before the update. . . have you tried uninstalling the update, then reinstall, making sure AV is turned off and no other programs are open?
     
  3. Kwatkins

    Kwatkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for your reply.

    I've removed all updates for 2-15-2011 and it still freezes when using Outlook, SQL Server and Visual Basic.

    I am suspecting that he might have had a problem with his OS or Registry and the updates brought the problem to life. I'm thinking we might need to replace/image the hard drive.
     
  4. DKTaber

    DKTaber

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    If you have a recent image of the HD, that's certainly a viable option. If you don't have one or it's very old, you should first try a system file check. If you're not familiar with that program, it checks all the OS files and if any are corrupted or missing, replaces them. It requires that you have a Win CD from which it can get the files. To run it, Start, Run and type in "sfc /scannow" (there is a space between sfc and /scannow). Be aware that the process can take as much as 20 minutes on a slow computer.
     
  5. Kwatkins

    Kwatkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    We were unable to resolve the issue and replced the hard drive with a freshly imaged hard drive. Seems to be fine now.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/981345

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice