1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Desk top with ASUS USB-N10

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hawzmolly, Aug 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hawzmolly

    hawzmolly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I had to reinstall W7 Home Premium in the club desk top. The desk top sees the wifi connection I use but will not connect. Please help.

    I am using the ASUS USB-N10 Wireless-N150 USB Adapter. I have installed the ASUS Driver software and then plugged in the device as required. NoGo. Get a popup saying "Computer failed to connect". When I open the network from the icon on the task bar it says "Connected". I click on "Disconnect" and try again - NoGo Same result.

    Tried a couple of times then I remember the definition of Insanity - "Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results".
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    The latest version from the web site?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. hawzmolly

    hawzmolly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    TerryNet,


    First, I am not sure how we handle the forum. From the email I just got I am assuming the forum is the only method of communication.



    I am not sure what "Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector (http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector" is. Is it something I download, load on the the problem pc and then run? I am assuming it is something you need to see from the pc in question. Correct?



    TIA for the help.

    R Haworth
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    That's a 'yes' on all accounts, Larry. The Networks page is the default page when you run the Xirrus Inspector.
     
  5. hawzmolly

    hawzmolly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GBAMRC-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Our network to access is "BC_Library_D........."
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    I totally do not understand that data. The orange/yellow highlighted line on the Xirrus output indicates a connection, but there is no IP configuration. Even more mysteriously there is no hint of any networking hardware in the ipconfig /all.

    What is listed in Device Manager under Network Adapters? What, if any, warning or errors are anywhere in Device Manager?
     
  7. hawzmolly

    hawzmolly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I sent all the info you asked for. Now what?
     
  8. hawzmolly

    hawzmolly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Today I bit the bullet and reinstalled Windows 7. Did a full (Wiped the HD) install.

    Immediately after the installation I installed the Netgear N300 software and adapter. All worked perfectly.

    Now all I have to do is install the software we us at the club. We keep all files on a flash drive so nothing was lost.

    I marked this thread "Solved" as there is a fix that seems , at least for now, to work. Maybe MS should take a look at this problem. I really don't know how to explain it or inform MS but maybe someone on this forum does.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Thanks for telling us your solution. Probably was some kind of glitch in the previous installation.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063670