1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Deskjet USB printer doesn´t install correctly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by HarshMellow, Mar 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HarshMellow

HarshMellow Thread Starter

Hello!

I´m a newbie here, and doesn´t know too much how does function this site, I´ll try to help where I can, but I came here to ask something that is bothering me.

I´ve just bought an Epson Deskjet USB printer (C42 UX) and installed it correctly (it worked alone, when "filling itself")... The problem is using it under my Windows 98 SE OS.

First, I had no USB ports, so I bought also a PCI to USB card adapter and installed it and Win98 could detect it OK.

Second, I tried letting the printer turned on and booting the system. It detected something and installed an "unknown device".
    It seemed not important, so I installed the drivers of the printers... but when the driver installation tried to check the printer port it didn´t detect it, and I couldn´t detect it ever since.

After this, I have tried a lot of things... Checking the BIOS to disable any unused port/device... enable anything related to USB (which I had to disable again, ´cause seemed to be an *onboard USB port*, but as it didn´t have the actual ports, I didn´t see).
    I also tried to remove the "unknown device" and turn on/install the printer after the boot. And also install it via control panel... but nothing worked.

I tried checking with the Epson support here, but they´ve said that it is a problem with the USB port, so they couldn´t help.
    Windows won´t let me install any driver from the Epson CD directly for this device... it says "The specified location does not contain information about your hardware".

What could I do? Any hint? Thnx in advance!