(solved) Desktop Icons

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dabwid

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Is there a way to make the background for the text transparent?
 

dabwid

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
The text on the shortcuts on the desktop, like where it says My Computer,Internet Explorer,and so on.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2000
Messages
2,984
It is transparent in XP. And if you are not using XP, there is some third party software that'll do it. I used it on an Win98 machine, but it must run in the systray to work. Do a Google and search for it. Sorry, I can't recall the name of the thing.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
What I do is go to control panel/ folder options and select "single click to open an item and poof its done..
 

dabwid

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Motherboard I tried your suggestion, didn't work. What I am trying to is change the background color for the text to transparent, so that the desktop background is not quite so blocked out by the color you select in the apperance setting in the display dialog box.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Go to control pnel/system/advanced tab/performance/ and select performance tab. Have "let windows choose whats best for my computer " .This way all boxes should be checked..
 

Tushman

Banned
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
633
motherboard, you're an idiot. I'm startin to think you actually believe you're good with computers! Just what in the world does your advice "let windows choose whats best for my computer" have to do with dabwid's question?? Do you actually know what you're doing over there?

Hey dabwid, like emtronics said, you need a software tool that allows you to change that background. I downloaded one a couple of years ago, but the author has discontinued it. You can search on tucows or cnet for some freeware that will do the job but i can also e-mail you the setup file. I think it's around 2 MBs - if you're interested, send me a PM w/ your e-mail address.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Originally posted by motherboard:
Go to control pnel/system/advanced tab/performance/ and select performance tab. Have "let windows choose whats best for my computer " .This way all boxes should be checked..
If the poster was using xp and he somehow disabled the service it would be reset by doing this. Or did you know that already and if not you do now..
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Dabwid
I have been using a program Simply Transparent for years and have had no problems with it. It will do what you want on all windows platforms.

Tushman
Your comments in your post towards Motherboard are uncalled for. If you have a difference of opinion please take it offline in PM's to discuss it. I do not consider Motherboard an Idiot nor do I devalue his motives or opinions. As a matter of fact I am glad he is part of our TSG team! So please watch how you express yourself!

Dave
 

700mb80min

Banned
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
2,025
Annoyances .Org lists some options to try as well .Didn`t try them before but have tried the simply transparent davey suggested , and it works quite well. I am posting the link only because the site has a good selection of other " tweaks" for all operating systems.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top