1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Desktop shortcuts won't work.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by needafix, Sep 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    Hi, I'm back. I got moved and settled in but this computer won't allow new shortcuts that I create on the desktop to function. I just get an empty IE window with nothing there and source code is empty too so it's not getting out though the IE shortcut to yahoo does function properly but that is also the home page for this puter.

    Got DSl hooked up too so I haven't figured if that may have some influence on this issue. I called them, they know nothing about it so in the mean time I'm saving addies in notepad.

    Anyone?
     
  2. Leareth

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Try setting the pages as favorites rather than trying to create shortcuts on the desktop for the sites. This will help keep your desktop from becoming cluttered as well.

    To do this once you are on the site you wish to save, click the favorites menu in internet explorer, and select add to favorites.

    Internet Explorer>Favorites>Add to Favorites

    Then once you open favorites in Internet Explorer, you will have that site listed there, and can access it by clicking it.
     
  3. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    I never was one to use that favorites function. I prefer a minimum click factor possible. I would rather get back to my normal function of desktop shortcuts (never had a problem with it before) of just clicking my desktop shortcuts and going to my sites.

    IE allows for this but even when I right click on the site and windows creates a shortcut for that site on my desktop I still get the same results so something is going funky that won't allow these shortcuts to work regardless of whether windows creates them or whether I manually create them.
     
  4. Leareth

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Im not sure. If it worked before and you are doing the same process...
    Run a scan for adware.
    Or possibly you are skipping/forgetting something.
    Personally I would open the desired site, and size the window so that the desktop is visible behind it, and right-click, and drag the address from the address bar onto the desktop and select create shortcut and then name it appropriately.
     
  5. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983

    I get the same results by dragging the addy. Something with Windows is not allowing these shortcuts to work properly.
     
  6. Leareth

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Then I would suggest using the favorites. It is just as easy as your shortcuts, and less work than the Notepad addy save.
     
  7. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983

    Yeah, the favorites is less of a click factor than the notepad. 7 clicks for notepad and 2 for a selection from faves.

    Still this has me bugged. I'm good with windows and it always seems that the simplest things create the most smoke.
     
  8. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
    Open IE and then drag and drop a shortcut on IE.
     
  9. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983

    Dragging the useless IE desktop shortcut into IE works fine so still a mystery why it won't function on its own.
     
  10. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
    If you're using XP, open a command prompt by clicking start > run > type cmd and click ok. In the command prompt type assoc.URL=InternetShortcut and press enter.
     
  11. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983

    I didn't have any success with that either.

    I was reading somewhere a long time ago that if Mozilla is uninstalled (this thing had Mozilla at one time) it creates a situation that won't allow desktop shortcuts to function anymore.

    This isn't my computer and the owner doesn't really know a lot about computers so there is no telling what gummed up the works.
     
  12. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
    Let's give this a try. Start > run > type REGSVR32 /i SHDOCVW.DLL and click ok.

    Then in IE, tools > internet options > programs tab > click the reset web settings button > press yes > and click ok.

    If it still doesn't want to work, I suggest you give this a go...IEFix Utility
     
  13. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983

    Ah ha, REGSVR32 /i SHDOCVW.DLL fixed it! There was no need to reset the web settings.

    Solved! Thanks! :D
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/397037