1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Device Manager doesn't see new DVD-Drive, but does see my old CD-RW drive!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Stephenrulz3, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stephenrulz3

    Stephenrulz3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    I bought a new DVD-drive today and tried to install it, but it only sees my old CD-RW drive. They work if one is unplugged and the other is connected. If both are connected at the same time, then it only reads the CD-RW. When the other is disconnected, it gives the other the drive letter 'D'. Why won't it recognize both or how can I change the letter on my old one? The Device manager won't let me type another name in for the old CD-RW.

    How can I get it to recognize both?
    The brand of the DVD-drive is Pacific Digital and the CD-RW is Samsung.
    I am using Win. XP on an eMachines T1440; Intel Celeron at 1.4 gHz.

    Thanks,

    Stephen
     
  2. monted

    monted

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    860
    Maybe you need to give the DVD a different drive letter.



    I don't know,but just a thought.
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    ok if you are attaching both drives on the same cable make sure you are setting the jumpers correctly on the back of each drive. it sounds as if both are set to master. Heres what you should do. set the cd-rw to master, and the dvd drive to slave. and see if that works. make sure the red strip on the edge of the ide cable is toward the power connector.
     
  4. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    Make sute the one on the end of the cable is set to master and the other to slave. Watch the first screen when booting and see if it shows both drives.
     
  5. monted

    monted

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    860
    i don't know how mine are hooked up, but in the BIOS :


    primary master=hard drive
    primary slave=none
    secondary master=cd-rw
    secondary slave= dvd-rom


    i assume primary slave would be for another hard drive.
     
  6. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    try going into device manager and uninstalling(remove) the driver for it and reboot. This will (should) get windows to reinstall it. Maybe that will correct the problem.
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You have them jumpered incorrectly. One must be set to MASTER (MA) and the other one to SLAVE (SL).
     
  8. Stephenrulz3

    Stephenrulz3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    The jumpers were set to the wrong thing. They both work now and it gave them different letters by default.

    Thanks to all that helped,

    Stephen
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112760

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice