1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: DHCP w/ Reservation Errors

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Cody24, Jan 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cody24

    Cody24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    I keep receiving the below errors on 2 PC's
    Both are Windows XP Pro
    Both are setup for DHCP locally, on the DHCP server they both have reservations.
    --Support types = Both
    MAC address is listed in here as well.

    Any ideas why it's just on 2 PC's?
    and any ideas on what to try to fix this issue?

    Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 00016C54B9E6. The following error occurred:
    The semaphore timeout period has expired.
    Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server.


    Added:
    They are both the same Make/Model PC
    Both NIC cards are by Marvell, I updated the driver to the latest one (driver from 2008 to 2012) just on 1 PC.
    --I'll monitor it to see if this fixes the issue.
     
  2. Cody24

    Cody24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Driver update did nothing.

    It looks like the error is only appearing after a restart of the PC, it errors right when they login or the PC comes up to the login screen.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,072
    First Name:
    James
    If you remove them from reservation, do you get the same issue?
     
  4. Cody24

    Cody24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Yes, and it's only when you first login. It's fine for the rest of the day.. multiple days if the PC stays online.

    For now I set them both to static and excluded their IP Addresses from the DHCP server.
    -It has to be something with their NIC Card I would think, they're both running XP and will probably be replaced soonish.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,072
    First Name:
    James
    Very interesting indeed, and I would suspect the NIC too but perhaps you have any firewalls / ACL that would block that set of IPs?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved DHCP Reservation
  1. sisayg
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    317
  2. Pleps
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    377
  3. Malikquy
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    699
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice