1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Press Enter

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by eddie5659, Sep 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    Hiya

    Well, as some of you may jnow, this pc has caused me a lot of trouble. So, now its installed witha brand new Motherboard, RAM, AGP card, and hardDrive.

    Installed Windows 2000 using the upgrade disk, popping in Win98 to confirm I had it. It all worked okay, but on a restart the error comes up:

    Boot from CD: Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Press Enter

    Now, in the BIOS, I've had the boot sequence as all sorts. First, was

    CDROM, HDD-0, Floppy

    No joy, so went to

    HDD-0, CDRom, floppy

    then

    Floppy, HDD-0, CDROM

    Then, for the sheer heck of it

    HDD-0, HDD-1, Floppy

    Still nothing.

    I tried it with Quick Boot disabled, nothing. Seek Floppy is Enabled, was disabled by defalut. HDD S.M.A.R.T is enabled, was disabled by default.

    As the pc at home is the only one there, I can only answer via the work's pc during the day. I have my motherboard booklet, and the BIOS is Phoenix AwardBIOS

    Any help would be great, so close to marking the threads that I've started on this problem Solved :)

    Thanks in advance

    eddie
     
  2. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    Hi,

    First of all, set your boot sequence to: CDRom, Floppy, Hard Drive.

    Second, it sounds like you may have a damaged MBR so here is a possible fix: (this was for WinXP, but I think it will also work for Win2K)

    This is probably because your boot.ini file is messed up. Here is a possible remedy:

    You can boot to the XP cd (or Win2K) and when you see the "Welcome to setup" message, press the letter R.
    You will then get a DOS prompt.
    Then type: chkdsk /p [enter]
    When that is done type: fixboot [enter]
    Type: Y at the next prompt [enter]
    Then type: exit [enter]
    The system will now reboot into Windows.

    If for some reason that didn't work, you can boot to the recovery console (example above).
    Type: "chkdsk /r" [enter]
    When done type: exit [enter].
    This takes a bit longer, but the system should boot back into Windows.
     
  3. LINKUP20GS

    LINKUP20GS

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Seems you have built a new computer. does your boot disk work? if so try transfering the system. You know at the a: prompt type a:\sys c: then hit enter when you put the computer together did you make sure that your hd is set as the primary unit on the board and set as master. And put your cd drive on the secondary port set as master. your book will tell you which IDE port is primary and secondary and just for the heck of it reset your bios to its factory setting and let us know what happens good luck.......
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    Thanks Mark

    Will that be okay on my disk, considereing I haven't gotten to the actual Windows desktop yet, brand new install on a blank drive. It was the restart after installation.

    I'll print this out, and try tonight

    eddie
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You still have the 2K install cd in the drive at that point, right?
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    Candy: Nope, its not in there. If I put it back in when it brings the error up, it seems like it starts to install again. The Setup Win2000 page appears (one in blue), so I whip the cd back out.

    LINKUP20GS: Don't have a bootdisk, so can't get to a prompt :(

    Thanks

    eddie
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I think you need to keep it in there until 2K installs completely.

    I'm not that familiar with 2K installs, but on an XP install, when it reboots the first time, you still have to have the cd in the drive and allow it to boot to that again to finish.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    So, even though it comes up with the installing bit, its okay to leave it in?

    I'll do that tonight, and see what happens. Its just that it mentioned to take the CD out, and reboot. It didn't mention to put it back in.

    eddie
     
  9. mfinnell

    mfinnell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Since you built it were you anti stactic
    are the cables connected solid
    to drives and motherboard
    the 2k install CD first offers recovery console which gives the dos prompt
    but if you tell it to install it it says you have it want me to fix it
    I have gone both routes
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, if it says take it out, then that is what you need to do. When mine says boot from cd, usually you have to hit a key to take that route, otherwise it defaults to the hard drive.
     
  11. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    Going to pop it in again, and see what happens. Just leaving it at that error does nothing, it just sits there.

    Not really sure if I want to repair on a brand new install, on a new harddrive.

    eddie
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    LINKUP20GS: Going to try what you said about resetting the BIOS defaults. That may help.
     
  13. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,632
    Thanks dai

    What I've done, is last night tried resetting the default on the BIOS. No change.
    Then, I popped the Windows disk in, and it started to install again. So, I did and formatted, and went thru that, and when it rebooted for the next part, the actual install, it kept going back to format.

    So, today I'm creating a Win98 bootdisk, installing Win98, then up to 2000, and leaving it on Fat32 for upgrade.

    I'll print that out, just in case

    eddie
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    That is really strange. I assume at that point you pointed the bios back to booting from the hard drive first?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/278431

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice