Solved: Disk Boot Failure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

valerieleger

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
38
Hi Everyone,
I have searched this forum for a few days now and read anything I could on my problem but I am still stumped.
Here is my problem.
I get the message when I boot the computer: "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER"
My Computer Information:
HP Pavilion 061
Windows XP Pro Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600

Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1

Here's what I tried so far:
I checked to make sure all plugs were inserted correctly and firmly.
I changed the boot sequence so it goes HDD, CD/DVD, then REMOVABLE... but it didn't seem to solve anything.
I did a chkdsk and it said everything was fine.
Did a complete virus check and came out clean.
I did a system Recovery with the Recovery Tools CD.
I've also been having problems with my cd/dvd, I have to open and close it a few times for it to finally read the content. This problem has been happening for about 6 months though.
Right now it's a 50/50 chance of whether it will boot or not. Sometimes it boots fine, other times it will only boot from the Recovery Tools CD to load Windows.
Once in Windows my computer works great.

If I missed anything I apologize.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2006
Messages
100
Have you tried going into the recovery console and running a chkdsk /r?

Also is this a SATA or IDE drive? (does it have a ribbon cable or a thinner SATA one)
 

valerieleger

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
38
Yes, I forgot to add that in. I did a chkdsk and it said everything was fine.

I'm afraid I don't know what's a SATA or IDE drive. How do I know the difference? Do I look inside the computer?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2006
Messages
100
Have you got a spare IDE cable about that you could try and replace the current one with?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2006
Messages
100
There's a chance the cable's gone bad, if you could borrow a replacement from somewhere to test out that'd be useful.
 

valerieleger

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
38
Would that just effect how it boots up? Once I'm in Windows the computer is working fine. I don't have a problem there at all. It's just booting it up.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2006
Messages
100
Faulty HDD data cables can cause some weird problems, had SATA cables in the past cause sporadic errors both booting and in Windows.

Cant say I'm completely convinced that's the problem, but ruling it out would be a good idea.
 

valerieleger

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
38
I just rebooted after installing the Service Pack 3 and a black window popped up C:\windows\system32\cmd.exe then another one popped up and a few of these lines appeared "error: the parameter is incorrect"
I'm assuming this is a an error because of the Service Pack 3 and that it can be fixed by going to Microsoft. But I thought I would mention it in case it's not.

I also wanted to mention that booting takes a long time when it does boot, and my loading screen looks different than it used to before I had done a recovery.

I also noticed that after the recovery, all my old files can be found here:
C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\My Documents

I thought I had formatted it and that it would clean everything and give me a clean install. What does this mean and is this normal?
 

valerieleger

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
38
I just finished reformatting the hard drive. What I had done wrong the last time was not clicking on the Advanced option where the destructive recovery was hidden.
Now let's hope I don't have the DISK BOOT FAILURE message again. If so I will have to bring it to the technician since I assume it will mean a hardware problem that I can't fix by myself.
 

valerieleger

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
38
Well, the "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" still comes on at times.I tried to unplug the DVD/CD Drive to see if the problem would persist since the DVD CD Rom is not working properly with the DVD. But the plug won't come off.I'm wondering if I should replace the DVD/CD ROM... If so, can I buy any make for my PC or do HP Pavilion only take specific ones?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
10
I had a similar problem; Windows could not recognize my disk. It ended up being that the IDE cable was bad. Are your DVD/CD drives on their own IDE, or a slave on the hard drive IDE cable?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top